We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of FIG

FIG
Ranked #15 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hasell
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Saturday night and had wonderful dinner. The chilled asparagus soup had an amazing blend of favors. Our server was very helpful explaining the dishes. There were 4 in our party and we all had different entrees we enjoyed them all.
Would highly recommend

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shipfan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,379
    281
    104
    45
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Late Night Reservation, Prime Time Meal and Service”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a 9:30 reservation and were blown away by the food and service we received. Our wait person provided the best service we have ever received anywhere, providing in depth descriptions of the dishes, ingredients, and keeping the meal moving. Our table had skate and pork confit and every bite was a joy. The deserts (particularly the sorghum cake) was to die for.

Best meal of the trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig and Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good food but noisy!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went here with friends visiting from Maryland after hearing so much about FIG. The food was excellent but, at a table for four, we couldn't hear each other talk. My guess is that this is a place to go because a) its reputation of fine food, which didn't disappoint and b) to be seen. But if you're looking for a place to carry on a normal conversation, this wasn't it. We came during restaurant week, but since FIG didn't participate, an inordinate number of guests wasn't the problem. Our guests had to repeatedly ask for the wine that we had ordered and it took awhile to get our server's attention. Given all the great Charleston restaurants we've yet to try since moving here last year, we won't be back to FIG for awhile.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fig Is Great”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

FIG may stand for Food is Good, but I’m here to tell you that FIG is Great! This is our favorite restaurant in Charleston simply because the food is always good. We visit Charleston every 6 to 8 weeks for a two-night stay. One night we try somewhere new and the other night is always at FIG and honestly in the years that we have been dining at FIG, they have yet to disappoint us. Nice urban ambiance, the service is professional and efficient and the menu and wine list are fairly priced. My only complaint (though not a complaint at all) is that I am a creature of habit and when I enjoy a dish at a restaurant, I can’t wait to go back to try it again. The menu at FIG is constantly evolving, so sometimes that special dish I enjoyed so much and still craving may never be seen again, but thankfully there is always something new and just as scrumptious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HomDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fig was recommended to us by a friend. It's difficult to say fully why we were disappointed with our experience because our waiter was attentive and knowledgable and our food was creative and well-prepared. However, the atmosphere/ambience was not relaxing -- it seemed to have an edge that detracted from a relaxing, comfortable dining experience -- trying too hard to be a hip, posh New York City- style place. Also, about every ten minutes, a young woman came through the restaurnant with a clipboard looking at each table and marking something down (we have no idea what) but this score-carding (we're sure for feedback to management) felt intrusive. If Fig just relaxed its atmosphere/ambience, we feel that it would significantly improve its customers' experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JimIthacaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FIG also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to FIG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing