We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for lunch.”
Review of 39 Rue de Jean

39 Rue de Jean
Reserve with OpenTable
39 Rue de Jean is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Located in historic downtown Charleston , SC , 39 Rue de Jean is a refined French cafe and bar offering the best in classic Brasserie cuisine. The creations of our culinary team pay homage to the classic brasserie cuisine that inspired vehemently loyal Parisians. Guests of 39 Rue de Jean enjoy indoor/outdoor patio seating, cocktails and a predominantly French wine list blended with a selection of our steward's favorites.39 Rue de Jean offers a private dining room that can be transformed to host professional gatherings or celebratory affairs, accommodating up to 200 guests. This unique space, overlooking Upper King Street, features vaulted ceilings, exposed brick and a private entrance
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A great place for lunch.”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went with friends for lunch who had recommended it. We had the french onion soup. It was terrific. My wife and I split the Duck Confoit and bacon sandwich. It was one of the best sandwiches I have ever had. The duck melted in out mouths. My friend had the muscles, which looked terrific. The service was very good. The meal was an excellent value and we will return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rfenton231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhittneyP, Public Relations Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
rfenton231,

We are thrilled that you had a great dining experience with us at 39 Rue de Jean for lunch. We appreciate your kind words and review. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the Holy City.

Best,
Whittney P.
Marketing Director

Holy City Hospitality: Coast, 39 Rue de Jean, Vincent Chicco's, Michael's on the Alley, Victor Social Club, The Islander, Virginia's on King, Good Food Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    378
    122
    52
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great lunch”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I had the French Onion Soup and a salad... They were terrific.
It is a pleasant place to have a business lunch.
Highly recommend.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhittneyP, Public Relations Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Paula B,

We are thrilled that you had a great dining experience with us at 39 Rue de Jean for lunch. We appreciate your kind words and review. We look forward to hosting you on your day out in the Holy City.

Best,
Whittney P.
Marketing Director

Holy City Hospitality: Coast, 39 Rue de Jean, Vincent Chicco's, Michael's on the Alley, Victor Social Club, The Islander, Virginia's on King, Good Food Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Phenomenol Meal and Service”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Dining as a single traveler and the hostess seated me right away even though it was busy. Eric my server was simple put "phenomenal"....Just the right amount of attention but never felt rushed....Asked him for a few recommendations when I couldn't choose in between two entrees and he was spot on...Drinks were great, nice wine selection and general overall menu had choices for all taste buds...Foie Gras was the best I have ever had as the blackberry corn cake couldn't have been an hors d oeurve on it's own. Entree wise I chose the Braised Rabbit and it was 5 Star...

Great look and atmosphere...Will be back next time in town....

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhittneyP, Public Relations Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
SpBuck,

We are thrilled that you had a great dining experience with us at 39 Rue de Jean. We appreciate your kind words and review. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the Holy City.

Best,
Whittney P.
Marketing Director

Holy City Hospitality: Coast, 39 Rue de Jean, Virginia's on King, Vincent Chicco's, Michael's on the Alley, Victor Social Club, The Islander, Good Food Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“House of Salt”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely no problem with the greeting, the table or the service, everyone was totally pleasant and welcoming. But the food just was over salted as to be uneatable.
We had escargots to start, sent them back as too salty and back they came, as salty as before. Then he had mussels which were...too salty and I had steak frites which was WAY TOO SALTY. The steak was fine in itself, medium rare as requested but the brown sauce was laden with salt and the parsley butter unnecessary. Frites were, yes, too salty.
Thomas the waiter was very nice, comped the escargot. Overall, a big bust, small town trying to be big city and just failing, miserably.
Well, actually, the wine was fine and reasonably priced (a white from Langedoc), the service was welcoming and attentive, and the atmosphere was very pleasant. Too bad the food is SO SALTY!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bostonmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Had a great Lunch”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I town for a meeting and needed a quick lunch. There were five of us and we all found something unique. The duck club was delicious. I also enjoyed the escargot and the mussels were incredible. Everybody was happy and the prices were reasonable. Would definitely go back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank terryfl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhittneyP, Public Relations Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Terryfl1,

We are thrilled that you had a great dining experience for lunch with us at 39 Rue de Jean. We appreciate your kind words and review. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the Holy City.

Best,
Whittney P.
Marketing Director

Holy City Hospitality: Coast, 39 Rue de Jean, Virginia's on King, Vincent Chicco's, Michael's on the Alley, Victor Social Club, The Islander, Good Food Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 39 Rue de Jean also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to 39 Rue de Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing