We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for out of town guests!”

Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe
Ranked #2 of 37 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located in downtown Charleston, Kaminsky's "most excellent" desserts are prepared fresh each day by our talented pastry chefs with selections changing daily. We encourage you to explore our selection of signature desserts housed in the case at the front door.Relax and enjoy your most excellent selection of dessert with a beverage. In addition to our vast array of specialty coffees, we also offer a full beer, wine and liquor selection.Our signature desserts can be ordered for any special occasion or celebration. We ask that you call our restaurants to reserve your favorite gourmet cake or pie at least 48 hours in advance.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect for out of town guests!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We have been here a few times and it is always excellent! Highly recommended for people who love deserts. Desert drinks are crazy sweet so beware.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moytle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We are happy that you bring your guests to Kaminsky's! Thank you for the review and please return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    731
    270
    96
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The most delicious desserts ever. Even mom would approve... we sat at the bar, and six people out of six all ordered the best pie/cake (we all ordered something different!).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are happy that you had such a great experience. Please come again really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Take out was yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We just walked in and got two slices for take out. Both were yummy. Be careful when looking in the case at cakes because it is right inside the door! The cake was good, serving size was big, the container was great for eating from back at the hotel. I wouldn't say this was the best cake ever but I enjoyed it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KBazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are happy you enjoyed Kaminsky's. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best dessert's in the South!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

OMG, the best homemade dessert's south of NYC! Cakes, pies, cookies and more. Close your eyes and pick one and you won't go away disappointed. This small cafe offers desserts and coffee bar. Minimal table seating and carry out. On weekends be prepared to wait in long lines for a table and carry out....don't leave...get in line and you will be glad you waited!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for such a great comment! We hope that you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not as impressed, and very long wait times”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was a "THE" recommended place for dessert. There was a long wait time, and the dessert and coffee was average. It was very noisy, and quite warm on the upper floor. Service was also just average. Not sure we would go again, maybe better to explore others in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at Kaminsky’s in Charleston and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. We were glad to hear that we came highly recommended, but it was unfortunate to hear your comments on the lack of an exceptional experience that we provided. Being voted Best Desserts in Charleston, for a number of years straight, our goal is always to exceed your expectations with every aspect of your visit. It is clear that we failed to provide this experience in your recent visit, but we would love another chance to serve you again soon. We will be reviewing your comments closely and we thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing