We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG! Desserts and Dessert Martini's!”

Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe
Ranked #3 of 38 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Located in downtown Charleston, Kaminsky's "most excellent" desserts are prepared fresh each day by our talented pastry chefs with selections changing daily. We encourage you to explore our selection of signature desserts housed in the case at the front door.Relax and enjoy your most excellent selection of dessert with a beverage. In addition to our vast array of specialty coffees, we also offer a full beer, wine and liquor selection.Our signature desserts can be ordered for any special occasion or celebration. We ask that you call our restaurants to reserve your favorite gourmet cake or pie at least 48 hours in advance.
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OMG! Desserts and Dessert Martini's!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A nightly stop on this summers vacation. Although the chocolate chip cookie pie is the best seller, my favorite of the week was the apple pie (served warm, no ice cream...my preference) and if you like Martini's the Toasted Almond is a must have! If you are under 21 (as Kaminsky's is family friendly), my 12 year old recommends the rootbeer float. Service was very friendly and if there is a wait...it is worth the wait! I didn't try all of the desserts but I will be back to try more next time. Note: the desserts change as quickly as they are sold. There is no guarantee your favorite will be there. If you are visiting someone local, order a cake or pie from Kaminsky's, a perfect dish everyone is sure to remember, just give them plenty of notice or you will pay a last minute fee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    285
    101
    42
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Honestly this was our most disappointing "meal" in Charleston. Maybe I just ordered the wrong thing (choc mousse pie)?? Bland and not much too it. Just very average. Based on the TA reviews I was expecting a lot more. Cheesecake Factory would have been better. A lot better. Place is really small and seating is tight. Probably should have just gotten a milkshake to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marylander10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at Kaminsky’s on Market Street and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. Our goal at Kaminsky’s is always to exceed your expectations, with every dessert we serve, and we apologize that we did not meet our goal in your recent experience. We do take the comments from our guests very seriously and we will be sure to review your feedback with our Chef. We hope you will be willing to give us another opportunity to impress you and we thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Knock your socks off!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the second time my wife and I have enjoyed dessert and drinks at Kaminskys. The first was about 4 years ago...for the past 4 years my wife has been trying to find a place that can duplicate theWhite Chocolate RaspberryTruffle Martini, to no avail...we finally decided it was time to come back! As it was with the first one, it was unbeatable.

We also had dessert ( and I, a glass of Scotch). I enjoyed the Bourbon Pecan Pie ans the misses had the Banana Cream Pie- both were out of this world. When you combine the food, drinks and service by Sam, our server, you get your socks knocked off! This is a MUST DO in Charleston!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHESAIDYES09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for dining with us at Kaminsky's! We are delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your first experience with us so much that you came back again! It truly thrills us to hear how much you like our White Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Martini , desserts, and service! Your comments will be passed along to our management and culinary teams- as they will be flattered. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hills, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Living up to its name, Kaminisky's Most Excellent Cafe, provides most- excellent desserts, service, and ambiance!

Recommended multiple times by residents (and servers at other restaurants), Kaminskiy's is easy to get to for a nice dessert of snack. We had an apple pie slice with ice-cream and a kids ice cream sundae, which was more than enough treats for three people to share! Kaminski’s portions are large! Our pie tasted home made! Yum!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chezcalais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for dining with us at Kaminsky's! It truly delights us to know that we live up to our name! We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our apple pie and ice cream sundae as well. Please come back and dine with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Desserts are amazing and constantly rotating menu make it perfect!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We ate next door at T-Bonz which is owned by the same company as Kaminsky's. Kaminskys had a wait list which made eating next door at T-Bonz ideal. When we were done eating dinner, they have a connecting walkway that you can go to and pick out what dessert you want. You then simply come back down and can order from the restaurant and they bring it right to you.

The carrot cake was huge and extremely delicious. All of the desserts are extremely fresh and I would definitely go back there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing