We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great dessert place”

Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe
Ranked #3 of 38 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Located in downtown Charleston, Kaminsky's "most excellent" desserts are prepared fresh each day by our talented pastry chefs with selections changing daily. We encourage you to explore our selection of signature desserts housed in the case at the front door.Relax and enjoy your most excellent selection of dessert with a beverage. In addition to our vast array of specialty coffees, we also offer a full beer, wine and liquor selection.Our signature desserts can be ordered for any special occasion or celebration. We ask that you call our restaurants to reserve your favorite gourmet cake or pie at least 48 hours in advance.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“great dessert place”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

after you have had time to digest your dinner at one of the great restaurants you can stop in at Tbonz next door to kaminsky's for some bluegrss and a night cap then have some dessert at Kaminsky's or the other way around. Their dessert are too good to resist. try it you will like.They have an old fashioned décor that is quite charming.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Edward,

We are happy you had such a great experience with us! Please come back soon and try more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    795
    285
    101
    42
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I was really looking forward to this place. It's been on my "Must Try" list for awhile now. Meh.
We got a giant piece of chocolate cake to go. The cake itself was good, tasted much like the Hershey's chocolate cake my mom and I make. The icing and the chocolate chips, however, were below (way below) standard. The chocolate was tasteless. I was very disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Waxwing54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at Kaminsky’s Baking Company in Charleston and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. Our goal at Kaminsky’s has always centered around providing the most delicious desserts in Charleston, that exceed your expectations for both quality and flavor. It is clear from your comments, however, that we failed to meet that goal in your recent experience. We do take the comments from our guests very seriously and we will be reviewing your comments closely with our pastry Chef and team, in order to guarantee the highest quality and most delicious flavor in our dessert selections. We would love another opportunity to serve you, in order to provide you with a Kaminsky’s experience that embodies our true passion for desserts and pastry. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Dessert in Charleston”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

My family loves this place and I can understand why. Tons of fresh made desserts, tons of options and they are always switching it up. Do yourself a favor and order the berry cobbler with ice cream. Best dessert EVER!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you and your family love to eat with us at Kaminsky's! Please come back again soon for more our of berry cobbler!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Divine desserts”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Got it to go as we did not wish to wait and cozied up in our hotel with a fabulous dessert. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Inbetweeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing Kaminsky's! We are so happy to hear that you truly enjoyed our dessert. Please come back and see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go for it!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This restaurant only serves cocktails and desserts and they do them well. The place is small and there's sometimes a wait.

Had the chocolate martini, which was decadent and the coconut cake which was awesome. We went back and got the bourbon pecan pie and it too was scrumptious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djmchoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you think our desserts are wonderful. Please come back and visit us again soon whenever your sweet tooth desires!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing