We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dessert heaven!”

Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe
Ranked #2 of 37 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located in downtown Charleston, Kaminsky's "most excellent" desserts are prepared fresh each day by our talented pastry chefs with selections changing daily. We encourage you to explore our selection of signature desserts housed in the case at the front door.Relax and enjoy your most excellent selection of dessert with a beverage. In addition to our vast array of specialty coffees, we also offer a full beer, wine and liquor selection.Our signature desserts can be ordered for any special occasion or celebration. We ask that you call our restaurants to reserve your favorite gourmet cake or pie at least 48 hours in advance.
New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dessert heaven!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the last stop of the evening. We ask our other wait staff people throughout the evening where we could get the best pecan pie and this was the resounding reply. It was warm, with melted chocolate and well worth waiting for. Lovely end to the day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cms43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for stopping by Kaminsky's for some pecan pie! We hope to see you again the next time while in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    270
    95
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chetek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you're in one of those heavenly chocolate moods”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A piece of Mountain of Chocolate cake with ice cream was our dessert of choice. Delicious! Sat at the bar and had wonderful service! Definitely a dessert place in the market area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jvand00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for visiting Kaminsky's on Market Street. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Go to Ben & Jerry's Instead”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just went to Kaminsky's at TBone for dessert. Pretty long wait, but that's not the problem. 4 of us ordered desserts and hot beverages. Tea was warm, regular coffee was weak and warm. Sorry, but when we get tea or coffee that aren't hot, it does nothing for us. One of the group ordered a specialty coffee, that was also very weak and not even close to hot. One ordered ice cream brownie sundae and the ice cream was melted to soup by the time it was served. Tea was served without any milk or cream, we had to wait 10 minutes to find the waiter to ask for milk. Before we went in, we debated going to Ben and Jerry's just about 5 stores away. After we were done, we were sure we should have. Sorry - this just didn't do it for us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irish_in_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at Kaminsky’s on Market Street and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. We greatly appreciate your patience while waiting for your table. We apologize that your experience with us was not met with the high standards for both service and dessert preparation, that we are typically known for. Kaminsky’s has been voted Best Desserts in Charleston for the past 16 years, but we understand that the key to our success is consistency with every guest we encounter. From your comments, it is clear we failed to maintain this consistency during your recent experience. We do take the comments from our guests very seriously and we will be using your comments to further improve our approach to guaranteeing an exceptional experience for all of our guests. We would love the opportunity to take care of you again soon. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If you want to be good to yourself.....”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

It is a dessert place, and you should go there just for the dessert. Next to the city market, look for it and go enjoy southern cakes, pies and coffee. When you are there, ask them what kind of southern name is "Kaminsky". I enjoyed watching them try to explain to me that they thought it was Polish. Having spent considerable time in Milwaukee, I knew the value of a Polish bakery....I just don't think my southern friends were ready for that. Superb Pecan pie, with ice cream of course. And not a boutique, it isn't in the Polish dictionary!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bgould1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for visiting Kaminsky's on Market Street in Charleston. We are glad to hear you all enjoyed your desserts with us. The name Kaminsky's comes from one of the owner's family and is of Polish decent. We hope to have you visit us again at Kaminsky's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing dessert”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was the second time we tried Kaminsky desserts and second time we were disappointed. They were dry and nothing special, but they looked so good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting us at Kaminsky’s on Market Street and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. We were pleased to hear that this was your second visit but it was unfortunate to hear your comments regarding the quality of your experience. At Kaminsky’s, we pride ourselves on offering the most fresh and delicious desserts selections in Charleston. It is clear from your comments, however, that this pride was not upheld during your recent visit. For this lack of consistency and quality, we sincerely apologize. We can only hope that you will be willing to give us another opportunity to impress you. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing