We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to be good to yourself.....”

Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe
Ranked #6 of 42 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Located in downtown Charleston, Kaminsky's "most excellent" desserts are prepared fresh each day by our talented pastry chefs with selections changing daily. We encourage you to explore our selection of signature desserts housed in the case at the front door.Relax and enjoy your most excellent selection of dessert with a beverage. In addition to our vast array of specialty coffees, we also offer a full beer, wine and liquor selection.Our signature desserts can be ordered for any special occasion or celebration. We ask that you call our restaurants to reserve your favorite gourmet cake or pie at least 48 hours in advance.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

It is a dessert place, and you should go there just for the dessert. Next to the city market, look for it and go enjoy southern cakes, pies and coffee. When you are there, ask them what kind of southern name is "Kaminsky". I enjoyed watching them try to explain to me that they thought it was Polish. Having spent considerable time in Milwaukee, I knew the value of a Polish bakery....I just don't think my southern friends were ready for that. Superb Pecan pie, with ice cream of course. And not a boutique, it isn't in the Polish dictionary!

Thank bgould1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for visiting Kaminsky's on Market Street in Charleston. We are glad to hear you all enjoyed your desserts with us. The name Kaminsky's comes from one of the owner's family and is of Polish decent. We hope to have you visit us again at Kaminsky's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,073 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was the second time we tried Kaminsky desserts and second time we were disappointed. They were dry and nothing special, but they looked so good.

Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you very much for visiting us at Kaminsky’s on Market Street and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. We were pleased to hear that this was your second visit but it was unfortunate to hear your comments regarding the quality of your experience. At Kaminsky’s, we pride ourselves on offering the most fresh and delicious desserts selections in Charleston. It is clear from your comments, however, that this pride was not upheld during your recent visit. For this lack of consistency and quality, we sincerely apologize. We can only hope that you will be willing to give us another opportunity to impress you. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This place was amazing for a desert lover like myself. I walked in with a buddy at about 8PM and the place was packed we got a little table in the corner and the wait staff gave us the drink menu and for the desert menu (Only thing they serve) directed us to check out the case and pick one. I decided to go with the Pecan Pie and a scoop of ice cream. Loved it, my buddy had already had desert so he just settled on an Irish coffee. Large Portions and great prices.

Thank ProfessorRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for stopping by Kaminsky's. We are glad you both enjoyed your dessert and drink with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A trip to Charleston would not be complete without visiting Kaminsky's Cafe. The selection of desserts and drinks are excellent. Everything I've tried there is the best. Definitely worth making an effort to go. We got there after our family dinner for dessert and a nightcap or two.

Thank margritz425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for making Kaminsky's part of your trip to Charleston. We hope that the next time you are in Charleston you will come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

No trip to Charleston would be complete for me without stopping for dessert and coffee at Kaminsky's. This time we had the lemon cheesecake which was amazing and of course we had to get a slice of the toll house pie so rich and gooey! Everything we have tried over the years has been most excellent. You will not be disappointed ! ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dawndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for stopping by each time you are in Charleston. We appreciate you writing such a nice review and look forward to having you visit the next time you are in Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing