We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Desserts and drinks to die for!”

Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe
Ranked #2 of 37 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located in downtown Charleston, Kaminsky's "most excellent" desserts are prepared fresh each day by our talented pastry chefs with selections changing daily. We encourage you to explore our selection of signature desserts housed in the case at the front door.Relax and enjoy your most excellent selection of dessert with a beverage. In addition to our vast array of specialty coffees, we also offer a full beer, wine and liquor selection.Our signature desserts can be ordered for any special occasion or celebration. We ask that you call our restaurants to reserve your favorite gourmet cake or pie at least 48 hours in advance.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
520 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Desserts and drinks to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

They specialize in mixed coffee drinks and desserts and they do it right. I had the chocolate blackberry cake and some sort of coffee drink with Amaretto. Both were excellent!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for visiting Kaminsky's in Downtown Charleston. We are glad to hear that both the dessert and your drink were delicious, we hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    270
    96
    36
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Always a yummy dessert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Kaminsky's has HUGE potions of their yummy desserts. Most of them are extrememly sweet and I often can't finish a slice, but they're delicious. Kaminsky's is also known for their hot coffees which are equally delicious. It's a great spot for couples or a small group of friends. They don't have a very large seating area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashpav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good After Dinner Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife & I love going here when we want to stop off somewhere for desert and coffee to end our evening. It is one of the only places in Charleston the focuses solely on that experience. The only downside is it is very limited seating and there is ALWAYS a wait on most nights of the week. It is rare we don't wait 20 minutes or longer and end up wandering the market area until our reservation is ready.

However, once inside the service is good and the deserts are great even if you are packed in elbow-to-elbow with the rest of your sugar-craving neighbors.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank StoreLocatorPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for visiting Kaminsky's in downtown Charleston. We appreciate that your wife and you wife continue to stop by for coffee and dessert. We do apologize about the wait sometimes, but also would recommend coming between 4-6pm if you can to avoid a wait. Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Kaminsky's. We look forward to having you and your wife back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncks Corner, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't count the calories- just eat and enjoy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

You are gone pay more- like as much as $34.00 for three people desserts, coffees, and one house brandy. It is a great treat so treat yourself. We eaten here nearly 15 times and not had a bad dessert yet. I hope you can stop in for a dessert during your next visit to downtown Charleston, SC.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moncks_Corner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for visiting Kaminsky's. We are so glad that you continue to come back and enjoy some great desserts with us. We look forward to the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Great Place for dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

All of the desserts are made by Kaminskys and displayed in a lighted case just inside the door for those of you who feast with your eyes. They offera wonderful variety of cakes, pies and cobblers. They have a full bar and good coffee as well as tea. Located right next to T-Bones on the market, I would most certainly send you there fot a treat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank siteseer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing