We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place for a sweet snack”

Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe
Ranked #2 of 36 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Located in downtown Charleston, Kaminsky's "most excellent" desserts are prepared fresh each day by our talented pastry chefs with selections changing daily. We encourage you to explore our selection of signature desserts housed in the case at the front door.Relax and enjoy your most excellent selection of dessert with a beverage. In addition to our vast array of specialty coffees, we also offer a full beer, wine and liquor selection.Our signature desserts can be ordered for any special occasion or celebration. We ask that you call our restaurants to reserve your favorite gourmet cake or pie at least 48 hours in advance.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a sweet snack”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Kaminsky's is a great place to visit if you are craving a slice of cake! There were a lot of great cakes to choose from. The entire staff was extremely friendly and attentive. Highly recommend visiting especially if you visit the Market since the cafe is right next to it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for stopping by for some cake! We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    277
    99
    38
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Take a walk after dinner & stop here for dessert”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Charleston restaurants are so good and give you so much food, we are usually too stuffed for dessert. I suggest you walk off some of that dinner and then stop by Kaminksi's later. One look in their dessert case will have you drooling! This time we had an excellent banana caramel spice cake and a chocolate cake with Heath bar filling. Cake slices are large enough to share. Last time we were there we had a cobbler which was also excellent. They also have a great selection of coffees, teas, and milkshakes. Prices are reasonable, too. Service was a little slow but they were very busy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leevin_soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK & Fantastic”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We carried out dessert. The chocolate cake was good but not the ultimate. On the other hand, the three-berry cobbler was one of the best I've ever had, cold or hot with ice cream. Both were large enough to provide two servings so well worth it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kysoccerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear our cobbler could impress you so much, and we hope you can make it back to Kaminsky's again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Fallon MO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So Good”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We came here after a carriage ride, for dessert. Our group had one brownie sundae, one milkshake, a piece of heaven cake, a chocolate torte, and a coffee drink. Everything was fantastic and well priced. We were very impressed and wish we had time to visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCS6771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much! We are happy to hear you and your group enjoyed all of your desserts with us. We hope you can make it back to Charleston again soon and see us at Kaminsky's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southcarolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Boring. Food just ok. Been once and that was enough. Dont know what the fuss is about nor why there is a line. Apparently owned by T-Bones next door.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank franklin2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing