We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good!”

Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe
Ranked #2 of 36 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Located in downtown Charleston, Kaminsky's "most excellent" desserts are prepared fresh each day by our talented pastry chefs with selections changing daily. We encourage you to explore our selection of signature desserts housed in the case at the front door.Relax and enjoy your most excellent selection of dessert with a beverage. In addition to our vast array of specialty coffees, we also offer a full beer, wine and liquor selection.Our signature desserts can be ordered for any special occasion or celebration. We ask that you call our restaurants to reserve your favorite gourmet cake or pie at least 48 hours in advance.
Charleston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Good!”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The place was jammed as it usually is but our server was personable in spite of the rush and delivered fabulous chocolate cheesecake and chai. It was an excellent combination and a nice way to end the evening. The drink menu looked enticing and we will have to go back another time to check out some of the combinations.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank butchieinstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    277
    99
    38
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Two words: Snickerdoodle Cake”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Yes, the place is dark and cramped but I think it's intended to feel that way, kind of "cozy". It would be a great first date kind of place. The menu of desserts changes daily, so they don't print one. You will get a menu of drink options, and boy are there lots. Many choices of coffee drinks and dessert drinks, most are spiked but not all. My sons got a brownie sundae and key lime pie parfait. They both loved them, and they're picky. I got the snickerdoodle cake and I'm trying to figure out now how to copy it. Amazing with a simple cup of coffee.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kbrown23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
244 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A Must-Visit for drinks and dessert”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Great location right on Market Street, always busy... and ALWAYS worth a wait if there is one! This is THE place for coffee, spirits, and the most remarkable desserts you have ever seen. Perfect for drinks before dinner, or a late-night dessert after.
We also love the ambiance.. what a great old building and fabulous antique bar! Fun servers, too!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hcvoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good drinks & desserts, but whats with the yelling advertisement out front?”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Solid good desserts, fantastic drinks (alcoholic milkshakes, anyone?), decent atmosphere. But they have someone hired to stand out front and ask every. single. person. if they want to join for dessert. It's just obnoxious and really makes me want to not only avoid Kaminsky's, but it makes me want to walk down the other side of Market Street altogether. Please let the poor man come in out off the hot street and spend his minimum wage advertising elsewhere, the desserts speak well enough for themselves that there is no need to stoop to that level of irritating advertisement.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank cougars0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This place is AWESOME. We had coconut cheesecake and it is the best. You must try this place.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadisonHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kaminsky's Most Excellent Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing