We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Quick Lunch”
Review of Jason's Deli

Jason's Deli
Ranked #523 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Quick Lunch”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I join friends at Jason's at least three or four times each month. We go there because:

1. It's location is convenient.
2. The menu selections are fairly diverse for the type of restaurant that it is.
3. The restaurant has gluten-free options.
4. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
5. The food is consistent and of a good quality.


If you want fine dining, don't go there. (You should know better!)

If you want inexpensive, good, basic food in a relatively cheerful atmosphere, go there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesIslandTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here many times in the past. The sandwiches are good. We had the salad bar this time. The salad bar is good. The salad bar didnot have a tuna or chicken salad, a shame. They do provide a desert of machine ice cream which was very ice filled. Though there were levers for two flavours and a swril, only one flavour was available - just. This a good solid deli. There is nothing that is outstanding or of note. It is good. We will return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank C P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sorry, need more quality control”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hallmark sandwich of any "deli" is corned beef on rye. The meat must be lean first cut, sliced thinly, and the rye bread must be slightly chewy border and soft in the middle. The mustard must be spicy deli-style. Sorry, none of these apply to any Jason's I have been to. Most of the employees have never heard of CB on rye, with coleslaw & russian dressing--that's the life blood of any real delicatessen. Well, the free soft ice cream is OK, I guess. Pastrami was cut properly, however the rye bread needs to be upgraded to the real thing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice deli in South Carolina”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just got into Charleston after driving from Jacksonville. We were hungry but didn't want to get anything fancy. My sister in law recommended Jason's. The place was mobbed, set up like a cafeteria and unfortunately they did not have adult beverages, a must while on vacation. We decided to get take out. I ordered a pastrami corned beef and swiss with mustard on rye, the sandwich wasn't New York deli quality but is was good, the bread was nice, but the mustard was yellow. I also had the french onion soup which was nice. My wife had an egg salad salad sandwich and the tomato basil soup. She like the egg salad, but again they use yellow mustard. And the tomato basil soup was tasty. We would stop in again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz F, Manager at Jason's Deli, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We do not offer adult beverages at this location, but other Jason's deli's do, and I do encourage you to try those locations. I hope your enjoyed your visit to Charleston, and will come visit again when you drive through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, SC
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very fresh ingredients and salad bar”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I usually go for the sandwich/salad bar. Very fresh ingredients and lots to choose from. Very tasty sandwiches, and the salad bar is recharged often. Reasonable prices for a nice meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank alocalSummervilleSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jason's Deli also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Daniel Island, Charleston
 

Been to Jason's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing