We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Asian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basil Restaurant

Basil Restaurant
Ranked #77 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Best Asian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Having never been to a Thai restaurant, we didn't really know what to expect. We are familiar with Japanese and Chinese but had only heard that Thai could be very spicy! Basil allows you to select the "degree of heat" that you prefer. So I can get it hot and my husband who doesn't like a lot of spice can get it to his liking. Who would know that Basil is now his favorite restaurant!!! The flavors, no matter the dish, are so wonderful! Dishes are prepared beautifully and the quantity is such that most will have leftovers to carry home. Prices are surprisingly VERY reasonable for a Charleston restaurant!! With all the fantastic eateries in Charleston, this is definitely a must try!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoverofCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    161
    45
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

My friend and I showed up on a busy night and were able to sit at the bar right away. It was actually better this way, because at the bar you're looking straight at the chefs preparing the food, which was fun to watch. We had the chicken satay with peanut sauce and that was good. I had the Basil and my friend the Pad Thai, and both of those were delicious as well. What I was most impressed by was how fresh everything tasted. The bell pepper in my entree still had a little crispness to it as if it had only been chopped minutes before cooking. We also had thai iced tea, which was delicious. The staff were all friendly and helpful. I would return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazammoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews on the food...Overall experience is ok....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

we'd the fried wontons appetizer, chef's Duck Red curry, Tom Yum Kung soup, Masaman, Ginger Chicken, Crispy Red curry Duck. While some of the dishes like the red duck curry & the Ginger Chicken was pretty good, the Pad Thai was not so up to mark.
Overall an OK experience.... The decorum is fine & the restaurant is situated right smack on the downtown.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MyMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
234 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Good advice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were in Charleston for a meeting. We asked a friend for a good vegetarian friendly restaurant. We were told to give Basil a try. We got there before the lunch hour and the place was nearly empty. While we were there the place filled up to the max. Always a good sign when a place is busy. We were not disappointed. The food was great with good heat. Would go back there in a New York minute.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Calicoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I generally eat at Basil once a month while in Charleston. It a short walk from my hotel. The pad thai is very good...add some chili sauce on the side. The bartender does a great job..she is busy but serves the folks eating at the bar well. I have order the stir fry special medium spicy and it was also very good. Will return in Jan.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Basil Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing