We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every Plate We Saw Looked Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basil Restaurant

Basil Restaurant
Ranked #79 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Every Plate We Saw Looked Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at Basil this evening. Our waitress(I believe her name was Alex) was extremely energetic, polite, and attentive. Being a Sunday night, they weren't as busy as I've previously noticed them to be. As a result, our food and drinks both arrived quickly and were delicious. Every plate we saw leave the kitchen overflowed with color and looked amazing. I can't wait to return and try some of the other fantastic-looking meals I saw!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    161
    45
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“So Good!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Basil is an excellent restaurant, one of my favorites! It has a great atmosphere, where you can sit at the bar and watch everyone in the kitchen or sit outside along the sidewalk. The food is INCREDIBLE! Some of the best Thai food I've ever had. And the service reflects the southern hospitality in Charleston!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best Tom Yum Soup Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a great Thai food place. It is in my top 2 all time Thai restaurant's with the other one in Las Vegas. The Tom Yum soup is by far the best anywhere I have ever had including Thailand. I could sip it by the gallon. The flavors and textures are superb. You can customize the Thai hot to your taste bud volume. The basil fish and basil duck are excellent as well. The Tom Ka soup is a favorite too. If you are in the Charleston area and want the best Thai food stop here , you will love it.

Helpful?
Thank jimles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had a fab meal in this place. It had a great atmosphere and staff were really attentive. The food was so tasty and we also had some cocktails afterwards which were really nice. I would definitely come back here if I were in the area and would also recommend it. It is a great place to come with friends or even a date! We didnt have a reservation but managed to get a table okay but I would book to avoid disappointment!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tallulah_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“O M G”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Basil by far exceeds any other Thai restaurant we have ever been to. Tried dishes that we've never had before and loved them. The bowl of coconut soup comes vat-size and there was plenty for breakfast! the next morning. Staff was great, helpful, and friendly. Don't miss this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank novalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Basil Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing