We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate and outstanding”

Circa 1886 Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Circa 1886 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Smith
Description: Chef Marc Collins draws inspiration from many cuisines around the world to create a menu that is truly unique to the Charleston restaurant scene. Drawing inspiration from historic Southern dishes and always highlighting what is local and in season, Chef Collins puts a healthful, distinctive spin on classic Lowcountry dishes. This means there is less butter and cream than typically seen on Southern menus. Whole grains are incorporated to dishes and ingredients are used at the peak of flavor. The result is satisfying dishes that retain their bright, bold flavors without the large amounts of fat found in many restaurant dishes. From our Plantation Rice Bread Rolls made in house daily, to the selection of local seafood, to Pastry Chef Lovorn’s incredible desserts, each dinner at Circa 1886 celebrates the region we call home. Let our professional, attentive, experienced and knowledgeable staff guide you through the menu and help select a wine that is a perfect pairing for food and budget.
Englewood
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Intimate and outstanding”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We were very happy with our dinner. We started off with two specialty cocktails that were fantastic. Than had pork tenderloin and my husband had swordfish. Outstanding preparation. We both had desert, I had chocolate soufflé and my husband had banana cake . Terrific service and great quiet atmosphere

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tennislover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,313
    209
    87
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brecksville, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great end to our visit to Charleston!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner after a day touring Charleston. The hostess was extremely pleasant as were our 2 waitresses. We each had the chilled asparagus salad and the flounder & lamb shank dinners. All dishes were spectacular!

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Circa 1886 Restaurant. Our service staff is comprised of professionals that have a passion for service. It is evident in the care they give each guest. We will pass along your kind words. Our goal is to make every dish “spectacular” and we are thrilled to hear we did so. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impeccable service”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The restaurant is the former carriage house of a Victorian mansion that is now an Inn (Wentworth Mansion). They both ooze charm and beauty. The restaurant service was impeccable, the menu thoughtful, and the food delicious. I didn't try wine but they had an extensive list.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leibofest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic Restaurant Fit for Foodies”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We regularly eat at some of New York's and Philadelphia's finest restaurants. Circa 1886 offered a true fine dining experience that rivals any of them. In Marc Collins's menu, Lowcountry cuisine meets Nathan Myrvohld. The waitstaff was superb, attentive, pleasant and present.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous08003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
“22nd-anniversary dinner”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Outstanding! I had antelope and my husband had lamb shank. Both excellent but the lamb shank had the most incredible taste. The crab Mac and cheese was also excellent. Highly recommend and would eat here every night if I lived here!

Helpful?
Thank Buckley56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent dinner at Circa 1886 Restaurant. We are thrilled to have been part of your anniversary celebration. The crab macaroni and cheese is an excellent dish that many of our guests truly enjoy. We greatly appreciate the recommendation and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circa 1886 Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Circa 1886 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing