We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining refined” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Circa 1886 Restaurant

Circa 1886 Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Circa 1886 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Smith
Description: Chef Marc Collins draws inspiration from many cuisines around the world to create a menu that is truly unique to the Charleston restaurant scene. Drawing inspiration from historic Southern dishes and always highlighting what is local and in season, Chef Collins puts a healthful, distinctive spin on classic Lowcountry dishes. This means there is less butter and cream than typically seen on Southern menus. Whole grains are incorporated to dishes and ingredients are used at the peak of flavor. The result is satisfying dishes that retain their bright, bold flavors without the large amounts of fat found in many restaurant dishes. From our Plantation Rice Bread Rolls made in house daily, to the selection of local seafood, to Pastry Chef Lovorn’s incredible desserts, each dinner at Circa 1886 celebrates the region we call home. Let our professional, attentive, experienced and knowledgeable staff guide you through the menu and help select a wine that is a perfect pairing for food and budget.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fine dining refined”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant did everything right. Food was good not outrageous. Service was exemplary and the dining room is everything that you would expect from a place of this caliber. However with so many fine choices in Charleston I doubt i would repeat here. Having said that i have absolutely no regrets and enjoyed every aspect. This is one of those landmark restaurants that one should visit at least once.

Helpful?
Thank fish_raw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,238
    198
    81
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing amazing amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I went for our one year anniversary. We went during Restaurant Week and the place was amazing. The food was the best I've ever had. The staff were great and it was beautiful. The busy kitchen staff also took the time to wish us a happy anniversary through chocolate sauce on our dessert. I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chimes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We picked Circa 1886 for our special night of fine dining while visiting Charleston. Wow! Great experience from the moment we arrived we knew this was a special place. Our two assigned staff were knowledgable and attentive. Food was delicious, wine selection did not disappoint and pricing was fair. Presentation was superb. All four at our table agree this was the highlight of an incredible trip to Charleston, what a great city. Hospitality is their key. Thank you to Circa 1886.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wairRwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
The pleasure was ours. Thank you for spending an evening on your tour of Charleston with us. We are thrilled to read about this exceptional dining experience and truly appreciate your kind words. Hopefully you will all find your way back to the East Coast again soon. We'll look forward to hosting you for dinner.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“overpriced but great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I thought the place was very nice and the service was excellent. The food was interesting. I would never have thought to combine some of the ingredients I had, but it was very delicous. With all that said, it was very over priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Neda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our creative dishes and inventive blending of ingredients. We apologize that you were displeased with our prices. Our pricing structure reflects our fresh ingredients and locally sourced product. We hope that you will visit again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had dinner for four Saturday, Sept. 14, 2013. Had been in the city since Thursday and although it was Restaurant Week, every restaurant we visited had a regular menu in addition to the special restaurant week menu. Not so here and it wasn't noted on the website nor did they tell us about the limited menu when we made the reservation. The couple behind us was also dismayed...said they had spent time studying the online menu as had we. After a $20+ cab ride we hesitated to leave and decided to settle for the three or four(?) choices. Cod wasn't good at all, steak was o.k., antelope was the best choice. Although we normally tip 20%, it was automatically added to our bill. Is this standard at this restaurant?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bettycarolepearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to read about your disappointing experience during Restaurant Week and apologize for the confusion around our menu. We call guests a week prior to their reservation to confirm the time and number of guests. If there is a special event, we reiterate any important details (ie: we only have one menu available during Restaurant Week.) We apologize for the miscommunication. Circa 1886’s Restaurant Week menu features a diverse set of 5 appetizers, 5 entrées and 5 desserts. We put all our focus on making these offerings excellent and are sorry that you were displeased. We do not typically add 20% gratuity to each bill, but we do during Restaurant Week. This assists our team in smoothly serving such a large volume of guests. Again, we apologize that you were disappointed and do hope that you will give Circa 1886 another try.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circa 1886 Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Circa 1886 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing