We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”

Circa 1886 Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Circa 1886 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 938 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Smith
Description: Chef Marc Collins draws inspiration from many cuisines around the world to create a menu that is truly unique to the Charleston restaurant scene. Drawing inspiration from historic Southern dishes and always highlighting what is local and in season, Chef Collins puts a healthful, distinctive spin on classic Lowcountry dishes. This means there is less butter and cream than typically seen on Southern menus. Whole grains are incorporated to dishes and ingredients are used at the peak of flavor. The result is satisfying dishes that retain their bright, bold flavors without the large amounts of fat found in many restaurant dishes. From our Plantation Rice Bread Rolls made in house daily, to the selection of local seafood, to Pastry Chef Lovorn’s incredible desserts, each dinner at Circa 1886 celebrates the region we call home. Let our professional, attentive, experienced and knowledgeable staff guide you through the menu and help select a wine that is a perfect pairing for food and budget.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Maybe the best we had in Charleston, and that's saying something. Had breakfast twice and dinner once. Very nice setting and just a great meal.

Thank mk15057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,266 - 1,270 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

The meal was very romantic. I love the entrance at the Wentworth Mansion. The quail appetizer was delicious. My lobster entree was good. But I was happiest with my dessert. They wrote happy birthday on the plate and the pluff mudd was soo good. Just a unique presentation and taste that I had never before experienced. It was a memorable meal and I recommend going there for a special occasion.

Thank penguin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Happy birthday! Thank you for spending your special evening at Circa 1886. This summer's dessert selections are quite popular - the Peanut Butter Pluff Mud especially. We are glad that you enjoyed the sweet finish and had a memorable night. Come back and see us soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Charleston is packed with wonderful restaurants, including many that provide outstanding southern-style food in an elegant setting. It was a treat to discover Circa 1886, next to the Wentworth Mansion. The food was delicious, artfully plated; the service was friendly and impeccable; the atmosphere was elegant yet relaxed. We chose the five-course tasting menu, with a wine pairing for each course, and it was a wonderful way to explore the menu. Their signature antelope dish (yes, antelope from a farm in Texas) was divine. Good for a special night out!

Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

We appreciate your fantastic review and are thrilled that you discovered Circa 1886 during your recent stay in Charleston. Our five course tasting menu is an excellent way for first timers to explore the menu. We are honored to be one of your favorite restaurants in Charleston and look forward to visiting with you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is probably the closest thing to fine dining that one will experience in this day and age. Don't get me wrong. I have no complaints. I just miss the days when one walked into a classy fine dining restaurant and all the men were wearing a jacket and tie and the ladies were impeccably dressed. Circa 1886 is the type of restaurant that deserves this. Everything spells classy. The decor, the ambiance. The food is delicious and the presentation is beautiful. The selection of dishes made it difficult to choose. I love it when the menu includes something somewhat unique. I had the antelope (as did my daughter) and it was delicious. We felt well taken care of. The staff will make you feel special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RVNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for such a glowing and thoughtful review of Circa 1886. We pride ourselves in providing a classic fine dining experience, so your comments regarding our service and menu selections are greatly appreciated. We hope you are able to dine with us again soon.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

You will love it, charming, great food, wine choices and wonderful service. Not cheap but worth it for a special occasion.

Thank adinaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circa 1886 Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Circa 1886 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing