We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative and delicious food.”

Circa 1886 Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Circa 1886 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 967 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Smith
Description: Chef Marc Collins draws inspiration from many cuisines around the world to create a menu that is truly unique to the Charleston restaurant scene. Drawing inspiration from historic Southern dishes and always highlighting what is local and in season, Chef Collins puts a healthful, distinctive spin on classic Lowcountry dishes. This means there is less butter and cream than typically seen on Southern menus. Whole grains are incorporated to dishes and ingredients are used at the peak of flavor. The result is satisfying dishes that retain their bright, bold flavors without the large amounts of fat found in many restaurant dishes. From our Plantation Rice Bread Rolls made in house daily, to the selection of local seafood, to Pastry Chef Lovorn’s incredible desserts, each dinner at Circa 1886 celebrates the region we call home. Let our professional, attentive, experienced and knowledgeable staff guide you through the menu and help select a wine that is a perfect pairing for food and budget.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Loved everything about the dinner we had. Service is impecable but also friendly. We didn't have a reservation but were treated royally.

Thank girlfriend49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for such a great recommendation - and for your note about our staff. We take great pride in our team here at Circa 1886 and love to read reviews like yours. We hope you'll join us for dinner again soon and experience our new spring menu.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,437 - 1,441 of 1,813 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is the best place to dine in Charleston, hands down. It is elegant, off the beaten path, and fine dining at its best. Worth the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 9Susan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We're thrilled to be your favorite restaurant in Charleston. Thank you for such a wonderful recommendation. We hope you'll join us again soon to try our new spring menu.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Circa 1886's first impression is pretty incredible. Tucked quietly behind one of the most beautiful mansions in Charleston (Wentworth Mansion), Circa makes you instantly feel like it's going to be a special night. Once inside, the dining room is warmly lit with candles and dimmed lighting creating a nice ambiance. Our table was intimate for a nice romantic evening.

We happened to go to Circa during restaurant week, so we didn't experience their typical menu, but food was still incredible. The meal started with a small cup of soup, a "gift from the chef" that every table received. It was a fantastic way to start our three-course meal. A week later, my husband still can't stop talking about the lamb. His favorite meal in Charleston, which is a big prize as we had some amazing meals at some of the city's best restaurants on our trip.

I would highly recommend Circa for special occasions. I would also recommend walking through the Wentworth Mansion's immaculate lobby before or after your meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Food is delicious. Staff is excellent. They have great breakfast for those that stay at Wentworth Mansion.

Thank NeilSneilorSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

you will exhaust all adjectives trying to describe the dining experience at this very fine restaurant. From the professionalism of the waitstaff, to the congeniality of the hostess in greeting your arrival you will be impressed. Now sit down and explore a extensive wine list and a sumptious menu. Try the antelope, medium rare, exceptional. Going back this weekend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rhett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for such an exceptional review of your experience at Circa 1886. We're thrilled that you had such an amazing dinner and hope your second evening with us was just as wonderful. Thank you for the recommendation.

Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circa 1886 Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Circa 1886 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing