We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charleston weekend”

Circa 1886 Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Circa 1886 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Smith
Description: Chef Marc Collins draws inspiration from many cuisines around the world to create a menu that is truly unique to the Charleston restaurant scene. Drawing inspiration from historic Southern dishes and always highlighting what is local and in season, Chef Collins puts a healthful, distinctive spin on classic Lowcountry dishes. This means there is less butter and cream than typically seen on Southern menus. Whole grains are incorporated to dishes and ingredients are used at the peak of flavor. The result is satisfying dishes that retain their bright, bold flavors without the large amounts of fat found in many restaurant dishes. From our Plantation Rice Bread Rolls made in house daily, to the selection of local seafood, to Pastry Chef Lovorn’s incredible desserts, each dinner at Circa 1886 celebrates the region we call home. Let our professional, attentive, experienced and knowledgeable staff guide you through the menu and help select a wine that is a perfect pairing for food and budget.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Charleston weekend”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

you will exhaust all adjectives trying to describe the dining experience at this very fine restaurant. From the professionalism of the waitstaff, to the congeniality of the hostess in greeting your arrival you will be impressed. Now sit down and explore a extensive wine list and a sumptious menu. Try the antelope, medium rare, exceptional. Going back this weekend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for such an exceptional review of your experience at Circa 1886. We're thrilled that you had such an amazing dinner and hope your second evening with us was just as wonderful. Thank you for the recommendation.

Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,313
    209
    87
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yonges Is., South Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Dining @ Circa 1886”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Circa 1886 is one of our favorite restaurants in Charleston for charm, setting, service and mouth watering courses. My husband and I were thrilled to hear Circa had extended Restaurant Week and we were able to invite friends to enjoy the three courses with wine pairing on Monday night. Our evening was without a doubt one the best dining experiences we have had anywhere - each course was outstanding and beautifully presented, and the wine pairing complemented each. Our server was awesome and very attentive. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Evening”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We joined another couple for dinner at Circa 1886 and had a wonderful evening. The food was delicious and the presentation was so well done. Service is perfect, someone always there to help us without being intrusive. We let the chef choose wines to complement each of our three courses and that turned out to be a great idea. We tasted wines we would never have known to pick and not once were we disappointed. The interior of the restaurant is elegant, but not stuffy. I think Circa 1886 should be on the must try list for a visit to Charleston.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vyonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for spending an evening with us, and for sharing your review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your dishes and wine pairings- it's a great way to explore the menu. We look forward to delivering another exceptional experience upon your next visit.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Very Delightful”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Thanks to restaurant week, I was able to enjoy my first dinner at Circa 1886.
The restaurant very charming and inviting. We arrived a bit early so we were able to enjoy a drink at the quaint little bar.
Our Hostess, Carrie was a very warm and pleasant young lady. James, our server for the evening was extreamly nice and very attentive. Let's not forget that the food was delicious!

After dinner, we sat and enjoyed talking on one of the several benches located in the pituresque court yard.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Sounds like a fantastic evening. Thank you for spending a night of Restaurant Week with us. We're thrilled to read that you had such a positive experience, enjoyed your meal and our level of service. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Circa 1886”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Circa 1886 was perfect from the moment we pulled up in our pedicab to the last bite of delectable roasted banana soufflé. We were there for our first time to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary and they made it a night we'll never forget! The atmosphere was intimate and inviting. The service was impeccable and friendly. We had the beet gelee and goat cheese panna cotta salad, tomato and olive oil soup, striped bass, lamb chops, caramel pear cake, and banana soufflé. Everything was to die for!!!! The waiter, Jason, was the best! He recommended a fabulous bottle of wine and made us feel right at home! He even gave us complimentary prosecco with our dessert as his way of wishing us a happy anniversary. We live in downtown Charleston and have dined almost everywhere, but Circa 1886 by far was one of the best meals we've ever had. The total experience is not to be missed if you find yourself in Charleston wanting fabulous food, outstanding service, topped off with the usual Southern hospitality. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circa 1886 Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Circa 1886 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing