We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best dining experience ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Circa 1886 Restaurant

Circa 1886 Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Circa 1886 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Smith
Description: Chef Marc Collins draws inspiration from many cuisines around the world to create a menu that is truly unique to the Charleston restaurant scene. Drawing inspiration from historic Southern dishes and always highlighting what is local and in season, Chef Collins puts a healthful, distinctive spin on classic Lowcountry dishes. This means there is less butter and cream than typically seen on Southern menus. Whole grains are incorporated to dishes and ingredients are used at the peak of flavor. The result is satisfying dishes that retain their bright, bold flavors without the large amounts of fat found in many restaurant dishes. From our Plantation Rice Bread Rolls made in house daily, to the selection of local seafood, to Pastry Chef Lovorn’s incredible desserts, each dinner at Circa 1886 celebrates the region we call home. Let our professional, attentive, experienced and knowledgeable staff guide you through the menu and help select a wine that is a perfect pairing for food and budget.
Fuquay Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best dining experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I have traveled throughout the U.S., Europe, North America and Australia. George's at the Cove in La Jolla, CA, is no longer the best restaurant we have ever had the pleasure visiting. Circa 1886 is simply outstanding. Don't know how the wine and cocktails always taste better than at home but they do. Sean was our lead server and was completely knowledgable, professional and pleasant to talk with. As the restaurant changes it's menu on a regular basis, can't say if what we had will be available in the future. However let me clearly say our appetizers were wonderful. I had a lightly grilled romaine dish that rated a perfect 10. The scallop entree was even better. The desserts of key lime cheesecake and a special ice cream sandwich with coconut soda were the perfect endings to an absolutely unforgettable dinner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank greyhoundgriffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We greatly appreciate your glowing review of Circa 1886. It is quite an honor to be named your "favorite restaurant in the world." We are thrilled to read such high praise of our service, bar selections, entrees and desserts. You'll have to visit again soon and sample our new menu. Thank you for your recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,238
    198
    81
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a wonderful evening here for my wife's 30th birthday. Definitely try the cocktails - the bartender is very skilled. Probably the best old fashioned I have ever had. Menu has unique flavoring based on simple ingredients. When I made the reservation, I mentioned that it was my wife's birthday and both the server and hostess wished her a happy birthday. For our desert, they wrote out Happy Birthday discretely in chocolate on her plate. Just a very classy way to acknowledge her special day without making it hokey. Perfect birthday night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
A very happy birthday to your wife. We are thrilled that you decided to spend such a special evening here at Circa 1886. Our staff is a great source of pride for the restaurant, so we always enjoy hearing such kind remarks about the team. We appreciate your dinner review and are happy that your wife enjoyed her surprise at dessert. We hope a birthday dinner at the restaurant becomes a new tradition.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great meal in very nice surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

A fairly romantic spot, with staff who seemed to know their food. Excelent meal started with amuse bouche of black bean soup, followed by a hot and cold corn mix/ soup. Excellent, succulent antelope with a delicate wine sauce. Topped by the strawberry souffle, which was memorable.
Highly recommended

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank djcalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are so happy to read about your recent dining experience at Circa 1886. Thank you for your praise on our starter dishes, signature Antelope dish and dessert of souffle. We look forward to hosting you again for another romantic evening.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“We had a very special evening celebrating our anniversary with delectable cusine and exemplary service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our grown children treated us to a special evening @ circa 1886 for our anniversary.
We would definitely return for an encore experience.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank merchantstmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Happy Anniversary to you both. We are thrilled your children treated you to a dining experience here at Circa 1886. Our team looks forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Phenomenal experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stopped in Charleston for an overnight before heading to Hilton Head for a week in our timeshare. We were traveling with friends who had never been to Charleston. We chose to dine at Circa 1886 because it was highly recommended. Three of the four of us were having birthdays the same week so we thought this would be an excellent place to celebrate. We are so glad we chose to have our birthday dinner at Circa 1886! Everything was absolutely perfect. Our table was reserved in the corner of the booth section and we felt like we had total privacy. Our waiters were very attentive to our needs. Each course was plated in a very appetizing way. The food was unique and most delicious. I had the wild strawberry torte with honeysuckle ice cream for dessert. It was the most delectable combination of flavors. I highly recommend trying it but be sure to order it early because it is cooked to order and takes 20 minutes to prepare. Overall our dining experience was one of the top 5 in memory!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Circa 1886 Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are thrilled to read such a wonderful review of your experience here at Circa 1886. It is an honored to be among your "top 5" dining experiences. Our team always enjoys hosting special occasions, so we too are glad you decided to have a joint birthday celebration here. We are both so proud that "everything was perfect" and look forward to hosting you again upon your next trip through Charleston. Thank you for the recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman and Chef Marc Collins, Co-Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circa 1886 Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Circa 1886 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing