We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch was good, not noteworthy though”
Review of The Palmetto Cafe

The Palmetto Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
The Palmetto Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Hassel Street
Description: The AAA Four-Diamond Palmetto Cafe offers a tranquil, garden-like setting perfect for breakfast, lunch or weekend brunch. This casual, yet elegant restaurant features a lush courtyard complete with circular bronze fountain and impeccably kept gardens, perfect for enjoying nice weather.
Vidalia, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch was good, not noteworthy though”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We went to Palmetto Cafe for lunch and were not impressed. While I would not protest returning to Palmetto Cafe, neither is it on my list of places I want to go back to someday. The service was good, though not as good as we found at other places in Charleston. There was not anything particularly wrong with the service, but nor was there anything outstanding. The setting was nice and the seating was comfortable. The best part of the meal was the plantain appetizer we had, I haven't typically loved plantains, but this was very good. I can't even remember now exactly what else we ordered as it was so ordinary.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjmread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    63
    21
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The food was delicious and the serice was excellent. The menu had lots of good choices...hard to pick just one!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ncdeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always wonderful!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have been to this restaurant many times, but this was my first brunch experience and it was great! The food is always amazing and the selection vast. The servers are always professional and delightful. They even gave us complimentary champagne as it was my birthday! A must visit place in Charleston.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tropicaltraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutman, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly, lovely and close”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

While staying at the Charleston Place, we dropped in to the cafe for breakfast one morning, brunch on another. The hostess and staff are friendly, efficient and attentive. The coffee was not to our taste. Fresh food and lovely atmosphere. Spendy for the portions. A lovely, place to start the day. Perhaps the should consider offering an ala carte option in addition to such a limited brunch. Chris, the male server and Alex, the female server were both excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Mother's Day brunch”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I took my mother here on a recent trip to Charleston. The buffet brunch was quite lavish. They had a wonderful seafood station with absolutely gigantic jumbo shrimp and tasty crab claws along with other raw seafood.

They also had a made to order omelet station and belgian waffles.

The desserts were quite tasty as were the mimosas!

Our waiter told us that the regular sunday brunches are not quite as large but still worth taking part in.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nursebug27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palmetto Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Palmetto Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing