We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly server, but food could have been better.”
Review of Southend Brewery & Smokehouse - CLOSED

Southend Brewery & Smokehouse
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Queen St
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We ordered appetizers and salad for a late lunch. One app was good (BBQ shrimp), and one (the crab and artichoke dip) was nasty: foul fishy and brownish. We sent it back, it was really that bad. They were very accommodating, however, and took it off the bill, so we were pleasantly surprised. The server was super friendly and interior was relaxed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jae00004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle R, Manager at Southend Brewery & Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for dining with us at Southend Brewery and Smokehouse. We appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent visit. We are pleased that your service was top-notch, but are very sorry about the poor tasting appetizer. We truly hope we have the chance to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 738 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

We wanted lunch and found Southend Brewery and Smokehouse. It looked like a fun, lively place from the outside. It did not disappoint. We were seated quickly, and took a look over the menu offering all kinds of sandwiches, plate dinners, etc... The waitress answered several of our questions about different foods, served us our drinks. We had a wide selection of food - a burger, a salad, and bbq. We really enjoyed everything.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WCG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle R, Manager at Southend Brewery & Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for joining us at Southend Brewery and Smokehouse. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are very happy to hear about the overall satisfaction of your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Needing a rest from walking, a cold beer sounded good. Little did we know we would also be enjoying "the best sandwich I've ever had," said my husband of the pork BBQ. My crab-cake sandwich was also delicious and the service and atmosphere were top-notch. Highly recommend!

Thank Indielyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle R, Manager at Southend Brewery & Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for joining us at Southend Brewery and Smokehouse. We appreciate your feedback and kind words about the food, drinks, atmosphere and service. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Went based on culinary tour sample. Terrible service. Beer was all served warm. Hot crab dip got forgotten and then served lukewarm. Thirteen people in our party and the only good food was the pulled pork. Waste of a restaurant experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keybird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle R, Manager at Southend Brewery & Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for dining with us at Southend Brewery and Smokehouse. We are so sorry about your recent experience. We always take great pride in giving our customers the best dining experience possible and did not do that on your recent visit. Thank you for sharing with us all of your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

At first we were a little startled by the rude welcome, but didn't let that ruin our vist. Our server was good, beer was fabulous, and appetizers were tasty.

1  Thank cynthianva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle R, Manager at Southend Brewery & Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for visiting us at Southend Brewery and Smokehouse. We always strive to give the best in Southern hospitality and we fell short on your visit. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southend Brewery & Smokehouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing