We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good barbecue!”

Bessinger's Barbecue
Ranked #212 of 936 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was an impromptu visit with friends. We chose to go to the burger side instead of the buffet. We had the pulled pork that had a really good mustard based sauce. Prices were reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IntheWind13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 374 of 482 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place is very good. We go there more for the huge selection than the quality. The sides are very good, the meats are good enough. The price is pretty fair. I guess that's speaking of the buffet. We went once when it was closed and only the other side was open, where you order off the menu and everything is cooked-to-order. Quality was better and the prices were still very fair.

Thank bhcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at Bessinger's Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate hearing feedback from our customers so we can further build upon a 73 year old business. We hope to be able to serve you in the future and be able to maintain a positive experience for you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Buffet only in dining area. Sandwich side available but more like a take out.
Wanted to select from menu so did not stay. :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Thank journalist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at Bessinger's Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for stopping in and hope you come back soon!!!! We have two sides to our restaurant and both sides have sit down dining. One side is our Country Buffet that is open Friday-Sunday and the other dining room is our Sandwich Shop. You order from the counter from the menu board and have a seat. Yes, the Sandwich Shop also has take out and a drive thru.
Thank you for your patronage and say hello the next time you are in and I will make sure what ever complaint that you have is resolved and that you leave happy and full!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The food is excellent.The price is high but the taste of the food is your money worst. So try them when you visit walking distance too.

Thank Shamika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

During our recent trip to Charleston we were recommended this restaurant by the staff at the hotel we were staying at just down the street.

Price: $13.99 for dinner. Compared to other buffets that we have tried all across the U.S., this was very overpriced for what is provided.

Food: The buffet is very small. The salad portion had lettuce and very little fresh vegetable. It was mostly pre-made salads, such as cole slaw, potato salad, etc. The seafood salad was the best thing on the buffet. On the hot side, the Teriyaki chicken was overcooked and extremely dry as were the ribs. For that matter the hot vegetables were mushy and the sweet potato casserole was very sweet and had a spice that was overpowering. The desserts were just average. My husband enjoyed the banana pudding.

Staff: The wait staff was friendly. Our hot drinks were served quickly. The dirty dishes were left sitting on the table too long. The cashier asked how we enjoyed it when we were paying. When I told her that we didn't she offered to call the manager for us. I explained to the manager my complaints about the food and the price. She was a young girl and very abrasive. I was told that I saw the price and should have left without eating. She also told me that she had just eaten the food and it was just fine for her. She then offered me a 10% discount on the entire bill or 1 free buffet. Guess which option we chose?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shayna_J_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at Bessinger's Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

We are very sorry that your visit with us was unsatisfactory. We are not happy for how poor your experience was and want to make you happy as I mentioned in our email exchanges.The food was not to your liking and have look into the issues that you had. As far as the management situation, we have investigated the situation through our camera and audio surveillance system as well as speaking to the employees involved. We found that you ate your food and were given your food at 50% off after you finished eating. The management did not handle the situation properly and she felt that she didn't know what else she could have done to make you happy, which she was told her manor in which she went about it, was not how our reputation precedes us. She has learned from it and is making the appropriate actions to becoming a better manager. As far as the vegetables not being fresh , everything we make is from scratch and NOTHING is pre-made. As far as the buffet being small, I want to let everyone know that this buffet has been around for 35 years and has a 10' salad bar, a hot bar with roughly 10-12 vegetables, 4-5 meats and 6-8 different made from scratch desserts. We are not a mega buffet like the Golden corral but a local mom and pop family owned business that has been around for 73 years with a VERY loyal customer base.
Again, we apologize for the poor experience and we plan to learn from it ad improve upon it because we do care and want to be around for another 73 years in Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bessinger's Barbecue also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bessinger's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing