We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Charleston

“Dinner and drinks!! Great place!”
Review of Hyman's Seafood

Hyman's Seafood
Ranked #127 of 1,019 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Deli, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The HYMANS have been at the same location for over 126 years starting out as a Wholesale dry goods store then changing to HYMANS SEAFOOD AND AARON'S DELI in 1987. The HYMANS commitment to guaranteed customer satisfaction is the reason that HYMANS SEAFOOD is now a Charleston landmark.Hymans Half Shell offers fresh oysters and great happy hour specials daily. Fresh LOCAL fish specials daily, delivered straight off of our coast. If there is ever a problem, please notify one of the family members that are in the building at all times.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A group of five ladies had an amazing time at Hyman's on Saturday night. Although the wait was just a fast 20 minutes, we enjoyed dinner at the bar. Josh recommended Moonshine Margaritas, so we ordered blackberry. Just the right combo of sweet and everything else that makes a Rita great! Our meals were awesome! Recommend the crab cakes and chicken and waffles!! Everything was awesome!!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank amye73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HymanSeafood, General Manager at Hyman's Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I just wanted to take a moment and thank you for your great five star review. We want to earn your business every time you walk through our doors. If there ever is an issue with food or service always feel comfortable to speak out as we will resolve any issues with the smile
Respectfully,
Eli Hyman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (6,902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 6,902 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a good choice as my family has an variety of tastes when it comes to seafood. Large menus with lots of variety. Food was very good as was the service. No bathroom available downstairs made it a little difficult for my mother-in-law (had to go next door since she couldn’t navigate the stairs).

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 583macd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HymanSeafood, General Manager at Hyman's Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a great review. Your comments and suggestions are always welcome. If there ever is an issue with anything at all regarding food or service please bring to our attention as we truly do want to “walk the walk not just talk to talk” about customer service. We hope to see you for many years to come
Respectfully,
Eli Hyman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Service was great. We all loved the She-Crab soup and recommend. All our meals were very good. The breading on the shrimp and fish po-boys was a bit heavy, but still very tasty.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank MoHo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HymanSeafood, General Manager at Hyman's Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for giving us a great review we look forward to serving you in the future. I do want to emphasize that if there is ever a problem while dining in the restaurant please always feel free to bring it to our attention as we truly do want to hear from you. We actually do walk the walk and not talk the talk regarding customer service. We look forward to serving you and generations to come. Take care
Respectfully,
Eli Hyman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ate there for dinner (two adults and two children). We’re from out of town and this was recommended to us. The food was amazing! Had the ribeye and it was cooked perfect and tasted so great! The hush puppies were so delicious! Had the crap dip appetizer and it was very good. Also had their Carolina Delight. Loved it! Husband loved his pick three seafood platter dish. Kids loved their cheese pizza!! And our waitress (Alexa) was so awesome! Super friendly and nice! Recommended food when we asked for it and she did not rush us at all when we took ten minutes to figure out what to order. When we were done there was no rush for them to “kick us out” she didn’t even bring us a receipt until all the dishes had been cleared. She even suggested some other sweet shops when we told her we would not be having dessert that we could try whenever we wanted to.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank rclough07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

In Charleston for a weekend getaway. Went to Hyman's for supper. Walked from our hotel to resturant and arrived at 9:05. Online and facebook stated resturant closes at 10pm. When we arrived we started in door and an employee stated they were closed. Advised employee online it stated they closed at 10pm. She said no that there closing time depends on business. Restaurant may want to change there hours of operation to state this. Very disappointed.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HymanSeafood, General Manager at Hyman's Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to let us know this error. I will have it fixed immediately.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyman's Seafood also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hyman's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing