We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait!”
Review of Hyman's Seafood

Hyman's Seafood
Ranked #83 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The HYMANS have been at the same location for over 126 years starting out as a Wholesale dry goods store then changing to HYMANS SEAFOOD AND AARON'S DELI in 1987. The HYMANS commitment to guaranteed customer satisfaction is the reason that HYMANS SEAFOOD is now a Charleston landmark.Hymans Half Shell offers fresh oysters and great happy hour specials daily. Fresh LOCAL fish specials daily, delivered straight off of our coast. If there is ever a problem, please notify one of the family members that are in the building at all times.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

There is always a line in front of this building but they have an amazing selection of seafood every time! Love the boards you order from based on what is fresh. It is worth the wait!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HymansChs, Public Relations Manager at Hyman's Seafood, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words and your business. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,468
    1,286
    722
    324
    247
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“tourist trap”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

horrible food. they claim all the fish is fresh. i know seafood because i am a cook and my cod was frozen, not fresh. not only frozen but had worms in it. cod and other fish like cod can have worms but a good restaurant will make sure they are taken out. don't know how southern living magazine voted them best seafood restaurant which they proudly display in the window. there is always a wait , the food is bad, the place does not look clean. with so many restaurants in Charleston why would anyone go here. stay away. it's a big tourist trap. maybe at one time it was good but not anymore.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank travelsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HymansChs, Public Relations Manager at Hyman's Seafood, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
I am genuinely sorry you had a negative experience visiting Hyman's. We encourage comments to the management if you ever have any issues, as we wish to provide the best for all our patrons. Comments of all kinds are welcome so we can continue to provide the best service and food quality possible. Thank you for your business and the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Eat here for your last meal during your trip or all other meals will be spoiled!!!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

As the title says, I really wish we ate here last. It was the first food we ate while in Charleston and nothing compared after. We ate at some good places afterwards, but it just wasn't Hyman's good... We went at lunch time and didn't have a line at all, so I guess we lucked out (especially since it was raining). You are ushered through a maze to get to your table and walk by picture of celebrity after celebrity, some signed, some not. I was assuming that those were pictures of people that had eaten there. We sit down and see that Patrick Ewing was ate at this table!! Then I see other plaques on the table, one of which saying Samuel L Jackson ate at that table as well! So that was definitely a cool start. Jeffery was our waiter who was absolutely fantastic!! He was so nice, such a people person, on top of things, and just a fantastic waiter! The only reason we went there originally was because we had a coupon for a free Wadamalan dish which you can find at many locations. We had that, hushpuppies, and boiled peanuts before are main meal even came out!! We wanted to try different things so we just ordered several appetizers. We got the gator sausage, stuffed mushrooms, carolina delight, and a shrimp trio. All of it was phenomenal. Words can't describe just how good it was!!!! If you go to Charleston, you HAVE to eat here!!! Just make it your last meal there, or you won't like any of the other restaurants you go to!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerryp84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HymansChs, Public Relations Manager at Hyman's Seafood, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Hyman's. Sounds like you picked some favorites! Looking forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“OK but not my number 1”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Saw the excellent Trip Advisor rating of this seafood restaurant and had only been here once many years ago so decided to try it again to see what we thought of it. The lunch wait at 12:30 PM was only about 15 minutes, so we browsed in their General Store on the first floor. Most of the seating is upstairs in 2 different large rooms.

It was a bit confusing when reviewing the menu to understand where everything was. The waiter finally explained some unknown items and where they were on the menu. We both ordered a fried shrimp platter. It comes with cold slaw and hush puppies which is served first. It also comes with an additional side – I got the sweet potato fries and my wife got just the regular sweet potato. We both ordered the sweet tea; which was quite watery and not much tea flavor. The order came in relatively quick timing, which was good as we both were hungry. It came with a Cajun type sprinkled spice on the shrimp; but it came with the tails on the shrimp. This is one thing I hate; removing the tails; having nowhere to put them except right back on the same plate.

The sweet potato fries were terrible; cold; waffle style but really no flavor. My wife liked the sweet potato; she requested cinnamon and they brought it quickly to be added. The shrimp itself was okay; we requested cocktail sauce and they brought a squeeze type container. It was slightly spicy; which we both liked.

The service was okay; brought refills of tea when needed and didn’t press us on ordering in a hurry. We had leftovers and they boxed it and sent us on our way.

Overall; okay but is not my number one seafood restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HymansChs, Public Relations Manager at Hyman's Seafood, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
I am genuinely sorry you had a less than great experience while at Hyman's. We encourage comments to the management if you ever have any issues. Comments of all kinds are welcome so we can continue to provide the best service and food quality possible to our patrons. Thank you for your business and the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Worst seafood we have ever had. Normally Charleston is known for great food. This was greasy and flavorless”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Worst seafood we have ever had. Eat anywhere else but Hymans. Used to be great but must have fired the chef. Will never eat atvHymans again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baskinbird17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HymansChs, Public Relations Manager at Hyman's Seafood, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
I am genuinely sorry you had a less than great experience while at Hyman's. We encourage comments to the management if you ever have an issue. Comments of all kinds are welcome so we can continue to provide the best service and food quality possible to our patrons. Thank you for your business and the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyman's Seafood also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hyman's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing