We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service, decent food”
Review of Hyman's Seafood

Hyman's Seafood
Ranked #85 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The HYMANS have been at the same location for over 126 years starting out as a Wholesale dry goods store then changing to HYMANS SEAFOOD AND AARON'S DELI in 1987. The HYMANS commitment to guaranteed customer satisfaction is the reason that HYMANS SEAFOOD is now a Charleston landmark.Hymans Half Shell offers fresh oysters and great happy hour specials daily. Fresh LOCAL fish specials daily, delivered straight off of our coast. If there is ever a problem, please notify one of the family members that are in the building at all times.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Friendly Service, decent food”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We sat at the bar for an early lunch on Monday, Nov 18. Anton is an EXCELLENT barkeep and info source. He took good care of us. We had been hiking much longer than planned, and the weather was unusually warm this weekend. I packed clothes for 50 degrees. It was closer to 75 degrees all weekend long. It was early for lunch, we were hot and crabby, and Anton soothed us. Cold beers, cold salad with cold seafood and all was better. Value food at the bar (this is not gourmet) and friendly service. We left happy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Redee2GoGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,473
    1,287
    722
    324
    247
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I've had better seafood at a red lobster restaurant in the Midwest.”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This restaurant is way over hyped. I ordered pick 3, shrimp, scallops and snapper. After sending back the first plate due to wrong order. Shrimp were tiny, tasted like they had been frozen, same for the scallops, tiny and rubbery. The snapper was tiny and tasteless. The broccoli was brought to me cold and raw. Only positive about the dining experience was the she crab soup which was very good. I do not recommend this restaurant. Big dissapointment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank davenicolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
389 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“An experience, not just a restaurant”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We read about this place on the internet, and it was much cooler than even the reviews said. It has good local seafood and low country cuisine at good prices. The tables are marked with bronze plates of those who have eaten there- ours had Buzz Armstrong, Dr. Ruth and David Lee Roth. There are hundreds of celebrities who have eaten here. The restaurant is huge. The store below is lots of fun with lots of local foods and gifts. They advertise heavily locally, be sure to get a coupon for a free appetizer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Proclaimer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great meal for a place that pretty much fries everything!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We usually don't go the fried method of cooking but you can't go to. Charleston and not go to Hymans! Lots of food for the $. The table next to us put away enough food to feed a small village! We took home lunch for tomorrow. Loved the fried green tomatoes!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seafood at its best”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great service and a very cool atmosphere combined with a mouth-watering seafood cuisine! Consistency is always ensured at Hyman's. Make sure you try their ice cream for sale in the gift shop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rher8150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyman's Seafood also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hyman's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing