We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!”
Review of Hyman's Seafood

Hyman's Seafood
Ranked #85 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The HYMANS have been at the same location for over 126 years starting out as a Wholesale dry goods store then changing to HYMANS SEAFOOD AND AARON'S DELI in 1987. The HYMANS commitment to guaranteed customer satisfaction is the reason that HYMANS SEAFOOD is now a Charleston landmark.Hymans Half Shell offers fresh oysters and great happy hour specials daily. Fresh LOCAL fish specials daily, delivered straight off of our coast. If there is ever a problem, please notify one of the family members that are in the building at all times.
Laurel Park
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My friend and i opted to sit at the bar section of the restaurant which i would recommend to anyone (unless of course you have a larger group/children); it's not a "bar scene" experience but simply a great food experience. The barman was most friendly and made an exceptional margherita cocktail as well as being knowledgeable about the menu selections. We opted to choose a selection of appetizers and every one was delicious: scallops cajun-style, crab shrimp dip, fried green tomatoes, fresh shrimp....each one tasty, fresh and sufficient for two to share.

The expansive restaurant (upstairs/downstairs) was bustling and while i would prefer the slightly more intimate bar-setting, the food is what you are there for and it's well worth it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mountainjule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,054 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,474
    1,287
    722
    324
    247
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The food and the ambience were great. Plaques on the table let you know what famous people ate at that spot. Prices are reasonable and servings are ample. Get a coupon for free fried tomatoes, the store is also fun.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy21136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
99 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Christmas in Charleston”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wonderful meal with family. Had a bit of a wait, but enjoyed visiting and people watching on the sidewalk. Menu was diverse; something for everyone. The staff was very knowledgeable and loved that the owners came to each table to chat. Food was outstanding. Looking forward to returning in a few months.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank durham9185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

When we arrived at Hymans there were lots and lots of people standing outside waiting to be seated. We figured we were in for a long wait. We were seated within about 20 minutes. We got a free appetizer (crab dip) I do not recommend it. However, when we ordered and got our food it was amazing. I cant remember what it was called on the menu but it was fried grits topped with a crab cake and lots of cheese and bacon. That is the best crab cake I have ever had. The portions were very large. My daughter and I took our left overs back to the hotel and had for a midnight snack. The staff were all very friendly and I am looking forward to my next trip to Charleston so I can go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mel8662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pam's visit to Hyman's Seafood”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went with friends...loved the seafood and especially all of the celebrity's pictures on the wall's.. Good food and service

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PamsPicks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyman's Seafood also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hyman's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing