We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our must stops”
Review of Hyman's Seafood

Hyman's Seafood
Ranked #82 of 926 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The HYMANS have been at the same location for over 126 years starting out as a Wholesale dry goods store then changing to HYMANS SEAFOOD AND AARON'S DELI in 1987. The HYMANS commitment to guaranteed customer satisfaction is the reason that HYMANS SEAFOOD is now a Charleston landmark.Hymans Half Shell offers fresh oysters and great happy hour specials daily. Fresh LOCAL fish specials daily, delivered straight off of our coast. If there is ever a problem, please notify one of the family members that are in the building at all times.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“One of our must stops”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We always have lunch here when in town. Great she crab soup and live the complimentary boiled peanuts. Service is always top notch. Generous portions and huge selection of menu items. Hard to make a bad choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grits_are_good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,558
    1,309
    736
    329
    252
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunnellon, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Valentinebabynj”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great lunch. Hush puppies are the best I have eaten. Our server Milton has been there for 23 years. Everything we ordered was delish. Will go back again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentinebabynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shrimp, Cajun Mayo, and Hushpuppies”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great food. Bought 2 pints of their Cajun mayo from their attached general store. Would happily return for more shrimp and hush puppies.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Customer Service”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We dined here one evening and really had a pleasant experience here. The staff were extremely friendly, the atmosphere and environment was also nice. The food was excellent and we had a beautiful view overlooking the downtown area. There is a wait if you arrive at 5p.m. We got there a little early and didn't have a wait at all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Albrin1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hyman's is a great local restaurant, the staff were very attentive, and explained the daily specials. The food was timely and good, the boiled peanuts that are given are great and a nice appetizer. Get there early by 5 if you don't want to wait in line or have time for a wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyman's Seafood also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hyman's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing