We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service in a casual atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cru Cafe

Cru Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Cru Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Located at 18 Pinckney Street, in a classic 18th century Charleston single-style home, Cru Café offers the best in upscale comfort food. Guests of the restaurant enjoy indoor and outdoor porch seating, gourmet comfort food, a wine list tailored to the varied menu and rich, satisfying desserts. It’s one of Charleston’s best kept secrets. Open for lunch and dinner Tuesday through Saturday.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service in a casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We made reservation and had dinner there. It is a small place and some tables could look into the kitchen and see your food being prepared.
The atmosphere is casual and we felt comfortable with our 2 kids (12 and 9)
Food was amazing and fresh. From appetizers to deserts, everything was perfect.
Price was very reasonable and definitely a very good value.
We would go back again the next time we are in Charleston

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelwinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,704
    446
    89
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
301 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Each time we visit Charleston, we head to Cru Cafe as our first choice. On our last visit we enjoyed a smoked pastrami sandwich with amazing cole slaw. The service and food were extraordinary AS ALWAYS.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time at Cru and I recommend it. We went for dinner on a Saturday, had a reservation fortunately because they were doing a brisk business. The restaurant is in a Charleston single house. Inside, it's a little cramped: a long bench goes along one wall and 4 tables are in front, not providing as much privacy as you might like. The food was delicious: calamari appetizer, seafood risotto, swordfish and a bottle of wine. For 2 of us it was over $100, so I'd call it semi casual fine dining. Go to Cru, you'll enjoy it!

Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very cool experience at Cru”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

While we showed up without a reservation (not recommended) we were lucky enough to be able to sit at the kitchen counter, looking right into the hustle and bustle of a working restaurant. The staff was talkative, gracious and we not only had a great meal....the 4 cheese Mac and Cheese is a must get. But the experience was amazing. Would absolutely come back to Cru, even with all the other great Charleston eateries!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mervin8r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were fortunate to get in at the end of lunch service on a Friday afternoon. We didn't dream we'd need reservations, but we had only to wait about 15 minutes for a table. We would have loved to have had a spot at the counter to have seen the chefs at work. As it was, we had a nice relatively quiet table in the far corner of the restaurant. There is quite limited seating, and the place is a little cramped, but even though it was bustling, our service was prompt. The mussels and calamari were both excellent, the calamari being served with an Asian slaw. The bread was a perfect way to soak up the savory broth from the mussels. And our shrimp BLT's were fantastic, though we were too full to eat the bread they were served on. Our son wasn't very hungry, so our server offered some kid-friendly items that weren't on the menu. He opted for some fries and buttered noodles. He wasn't terribly impressed with the noodles (he is terribly finicky), but the fries more than made up for it, and the quantity of them was quite impressive. They were slender and crispy and tasty. Clearly the staff love their job, and love to make the diners happy. Thank you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simple_Simon_323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cru Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cru Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing