We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Cru Cafe

Cru Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Cru Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Located at 18 Pinckney Street, in a classic 18th century Charleston single-style home, Cru Café offers the best in upscale comfort food. Guests of the restaurant enjoy indoor and outdoor porch seating, gourmet comfort food, a wine list tailored to the varied menu and rich, satisfying desserts. It’s one of Charleston’s best kept secrets. Open for lunch and dinner Tuesday through Saturday.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Restaurant came highly recommended and it didn't disappoint. Food was excellent. I ordered a small plate seared tuna w/ Brussels sprouts. It was perfect. All meals ordered were excellently prepared.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lifesbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,784
    471
    94
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

SNOB was much better. The food at Cru was too salty. Others were also complaining about the food being too salty. The waitress said it was a new cook. Really? The food was so so and the building yucky. I have no idea why there are so many positive reviews.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank coastgal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Make reservations early as it's small, but not to be missed”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The restaurant is small (it's an older house) with porch seating, but the atmosphere is funky, friendly, and charming. The food is amazing, and even the mixed vegetable side dish was memorable, and the waitress was willing to share the preparation. All the meals that we had in Charleston were excellent, but this was the absolute best.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramsey-Murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best restaurant ever!!!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This place is fabulous. Smile and small so book way in advance. I have never been disappointed. Salmon with lemon risotto is something I will miss

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzzywalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our first dinner in Charleston was at Cru Cafe and it couldn't have been more enjoyable. Beautiful old home with porch seating. We each enjoyed the grouper and it was perfection! The staff meticulously attended to every detail and we were checked on by several different people several times….not in an annoying way, but in a sincere and courteous manner. We will return for sure!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mim318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cru Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cru Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing