We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salad with fried oysters to die for!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cru Cafe

Cru Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Cru Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Located at 18 Pinckney Street, in a classic 18th century Charleston single-style home, Cru Café offers the best in upscale comfort food. Guests of the restaurant enjoy indoor and outdoor porch seating, gourmet comfort food, a wine list tailored to the varied menu and rich, satisfying desserts. It’s one of Charleston’s best kept secrets. Open for lunch and dinner Tuesday through Saturday.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Salad with fried oysters to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Could not put my finger on all the ingredients in this salad, but it was amazing. The fried oysters were just so darn tasty. Everyone in our group loved the food. The restaurant is very small so reservations a must even for lunch. Also, don't be surprised if you have a wait, even with a reservation. But, definitely worth the wait. Casual, laid back atmosphere and staff. Some seating on the porch which might be uncomfortable in the hot weather.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank intrepidtraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,704
    446
    89
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Quaint place old house delicious food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful dining experience. Gourmet food @ reasonable prices. Nice atmosphere for friends or romance. Convenient to Historic Downtown.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Metravelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Garlic and Brie Mashed Potatoes, Oh My”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This place reminds me of some of the finer restaurants in Portland, Maine. Small boutique restaurants with an eye to quality, imagination and execution. The staff is generally young, well versed in the preparation of the dishes, personable yet professional. It is refreshing to dine in a restaurant where you don't feel some marketing guru has manipulated every aspect of your dining experience. I dropped in for lunch recently at the recommendation of a friend. She raved about the place and now I know why. I had a chicken which was grilled and sliced like duck Margret with a caramelized tomato sauce. This was served with French green beans (haricot vert) and the afore mentioned garlic and brie cheese mashed potatoes. All were perfectly cooked and presented. On my next visit to Charleston, I will dine here first. I can't wait to try other enticing dishes.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cudame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
171 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice Place for a great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and I went here based upon trip advisor reviews and recommendations of our hotel.

This restaurant although is deceiving from the outside and is small inside did not disappoint. Service was very good throughout our meal. Menu selection is a little limited but they put out some great dishes. My wife had the sheepshead (fish for a limited time frame) and I had the pork chop special. Food was cooked to perfection and was very tasty. Of all restaurants visited in Charleston this one is at the top of the list.

We would highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RayV555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious little restaurant off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We were happy an affable Charlestonian guided us to the restaurant... It was small, cozy, and delicious. My husband had the osso bucco and the meat just fell off the bone. He quite enjoyed it. I had the spicy pasta and it was also tasty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anintentionaltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cru Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cru Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing