We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food in an old house”
Review of Cru Cafe

Cru Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Cru Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Located at 18 Pinckney Street, in a classic 18th century Charleston single-style home, Cru Café offers the best in upscale comfort food. Guests of the restaurant enjoy indoor and outdoor porch seating, gourmet comfort food, a wine list tailored to the varied menu and rich, satisfying desserts. It’s one of Charleston’s best kept secrets. Open for lunch and dinner Tuesday through Saturday.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very good food in an old house”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This place has great food with the typical Southern dishes. It's located in an old house so it's tight quarters. It's quite popular so reservations are recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaimeSommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,808
    477
    94
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Small restaurant with a charming atmosphere. Reservations are a must and be prepared to wait a few minutes for a table. Well worth the wait. Salmon with lemon risotto was perfectly prepared as was the Swordfish with shrimp jambalaya. Service was impeccable and friendly. Save room for dessert. Would definitely visit again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJLK1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unique and Delicious”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

A homey setting, professional servers, and unique menu. My husband had the special which was red drum and I had the chicken with pablano and mozzarella. Both dishes were fabulous. We would definitely go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cottagelady579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh, local food”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I sat at the Community Table, because the place was packed for lunch. I had a special salad with arugula, goat cheese, and beets with an heirloom tomato salad on the side. Husband had calamari. Everything was exceptionally fresh and tasty. A place where the locals eat, Cru Cafe should be on your "short list" of restaurants to visit in Charleston. Great place for lunch - call for reservations!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner on the porch”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal at this restaurant that's tucked a little off the main street. It was recommended to us by our carriage driver and we were happy that we took his suggestion. The food was tasty, the service was good, and dining on the porch on a beautiful evening was very charming. Be sure to notice the plastic bags filled with water that are hanging around the porch and ask your waitstaff about them! My chicken meal was wonderful and it blended some interesting flavors. The orange cake tasted just like a Dreamsicle! My husband ordered a seafood dinner which he said was delicious but even though he ordered a Caesar Salad to start, he was still a little hungry when we left. We would definitely go back if we revisit Charleston because despite the tinier portion size of one dinner, the food was really delicious and the dinner was so relaxing and pleasant. You should know that it's a small place so make reservations, and enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank brady7946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cru Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cru Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing