We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch on the porch”
Review of Cru Cafe

Cru Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Cru Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Located at 18 Pinckney Street, in a classic 18th century Charleston single-style home, Cru Café offers the best in upscale comfort food. Guests of the restaurant enjoy indoor and outdoor porch seating, gourmet comfort food, a wine list tailored to the varied menu and rich, satisfying desserts. It’s one of Charleston’s best kept secrets. Open for lunch and dinner Tuesday through Saturday.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Late lunch on the porch”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stopped in after taking the Historic Family Tours with Neal Cook. This was one of his several recommendations for us while in Charleston. We had about a half hour wait outside next to the smoker. We were so entranced by the smell of beef brisket that I think we all might have had that sandwich either with or without fries and coleslaw. I tried the local Palmetto Amber Ale which went nicely with this yummy meat. I felt like I was out on someone's back porch rather than a cafe.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,787
    471
    94
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

the best fried oysters I have ever eaten, buttermilk crust, absolutely delicious! the brie appetizer with the pecan crust was outstanding! Highly recommend!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vivi1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delran, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

was a beautiful sunny day, great to sit outside and food was great...wait staff very pleasant...worth the trip, prices reasonable

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weezie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
288 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice fine”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Cru was very nice. Small but the food was very good. A little humor in that the Resturant is on Motley Lane.

Overall service was very nice. Both our dinners were excellent

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This place had been recommended to us by friends and we took a chance for reservations for a late lunch that afternoon. We were seated at the chefs table, which is just a little bar that looks in to the kitchen and had a great lunch. The staff were top notch, the food was wonderful and sitting at the kitchen is a lot of fun. We had mussels to start and split the bbq brisket sandwich and were so happy with both choices. I would recommend reservations unless you don't mind waiting but either way it is worth the trip!

Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cru Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cru Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing