We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, and the staff are so nice”
Review of Cru Cafe

Cru Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Cru Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Located at 18 Pinckney Street, in a classic 18th century Charleston single-style home, Cru Café offers the best in upscale comfort food. Guests of the restaurant enjoy indoor and outdoor porch seating, gourmet comfort food, a wine list tailored to the varied menu and rich, satisfying desserts. It’s one of Charleston’s best kept secrets. Open for lunch and dinner Tuesday through Saturday.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, and the staff are so nice”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We're a family of 4, showed up without a reservation, and were seated in the middle of the afternoon within 5 or 10 minutes. The seating is extremely small, so reservations are recommended. I think we just got lucky. A couple came in after us and were told it would be a 2.5 hour wait (maybe inside seating). Our little ones (1 and 4) loved the table closest to the road so they could see the horse carriages coming out. The food is really tasty and the portions are large. The staff are very friendly. Can't wait to visit again. A taste of the Old South in a historical house in a relaxed setting was just wonderful. Our 1 year old (who is all fingers and can't wait to be busy doing something she shouldn't be) stayed entertained easily just in our little corner by the road. I was pretty amazed. Thank you to the wonderful staff for also making my little birthday cheesecake super special!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,784
    471
    94
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this cafe!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Whenever we go to Charleston we go to lunch at Cru Cafe. The truffle fries are fantastic as is the shrimp basil pasta. Great prices, great food. Very busy so I recommend getting a reservation because it is a small restaurant .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garden2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome lunch”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went for lunch without a reservation and were told that the wait was an hour unless we wanted to share table which we did and we don't regret. We had calamari, shrimp with pasta and one of their salads with salmon, everything was exquisite and the service was outstanding. We paired our meal with a delicious Albariño and we will need to come back for dessert since we didn't have room this time

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jugaral69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
227 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Lunch”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was one of the best lunches we have ever had while on vacation. We played it safe with their amazing goat cheese salad and chicken club but there was something about the quality, care, and professionalism of thee restaurant that made the experience amazing. The service was fun, professional, and interactive as we sat at the kitchen counter. The workers were extremely personable and displayed love in the food they were preparing. Do yourself a favor and make lunch reservations at Cru Cafe as I guarantee it will be one of the best dining experiences while visiting Charleston.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRsMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch. We all had the carrot coconut ginger soup which was amazing, followed by a duck confit salad that was equally delicious. I wish we had had more time to go back during our trip and try more from their menu. Well worth the wait.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DFosterTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cru Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cru Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing