We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!!!”
Review of Cru Cafe

Cru Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Cru Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Located at 18 Pinckney Street, in a classic 18th century Charleston single-style home, Cru Café offers the best in upscale comfort food. Guests of the restaurant enjoy indoor and outdoor porch seating, gourmet comfort food, a wine list tailored to the varied menu and rich, satisfying desserts. It’s one of Charleston’s best kept secrets. Open for lunch and dinner Tuesday through Saturday.
Scarsdale, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Loved the food, service, location, atmosphere, everything. But especially the food!!!! The manager is awesome and very acommodating. The burgers are cooked to perfection!!! Divine fresh calamarie perfectly seasoned.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank janette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,762
    462
    94
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really nice lunch, great service”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

4 of us went for a light lunch, perfect spot. Our waitress was a doll. Recommend the Mac n cheese! 2 in our group had salads, 1 had the soup special, all good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Small space but good food”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Went to Cru Cafe for a late lunch the day we arrived in Charleston. The concierge at our hotel recommended it and said they serve the best burger in Charleston. I haven't tried all the burgers in the city (yet!), but Cru serves an r
Excellent one. Service was friendly and prompt. We sat on the porch (a very pleasant option for us frozen northerners), sine the inside was crowded and rather small. Would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank West52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folly Beach, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had some friends coming into town and wanted to impress them with some excellent Charleston food. We asked around for something good and this was the ticket. Everyone was drooling over their food! We all tried each other's plates and let me just tell you - they know how to cook seafood perfectly. I had the pasta and scallops and they were just the way I like them, lightly seasoned and seared to perfection. We loved the atmosphere, the open kitchen, almost like dining at a friend's home.

Two things that people should be aware of: When I say almost like dining in a friend's home, the indoor dining area is about the size of an average dining/living room. It's tight quarters in the winter when the porch isn't open. Which also means call ahead to make reservations if you want a decent time to eat. The other thing would be our waitress' attire... T-shirt. Very casual. Which is fine - but doesn't really match the scale of food they are serving and especially for dinnertime. The service was excellent however, and everyone in our party couldn't stop talking about what fun they had and what good food it was.

All in all - definitely a place you should eat. Often.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MezzoBerry87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“quaint 20's home with marvelous service and food”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

home cooking.....unusual southern style food...well priced and service was wonderful....very friendly staff.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jim5906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cru Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cru Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing