We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of Cru Cafe

Cru Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Cru Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Located at 18 Pinckney Street, in a classic 18th century Charleston single-style home, Cru Café offers the best in upscale comfort food. Guests of the restaurant enjoy indoor and outdoor porch seating, gourmet comfort food, a wine list tailored to the varied menu and rich, satisfying desserts. It’s one of Charleston’s best kept secrets. Open for lunch and dinner Tuesday through Saturday.
california,md
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed April 2, 2011

food was great. mac -n-cheese was very good. fried oysters were also good

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbshark5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,808
    477
    94
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great addition to our day trip!”
Reviewed March 29, 2011

This restaurant was recommended by a local. It was a quaint restaurant in an old house, and although very busy, we were able to get a table rather quickly. The shrimp BLT sandwich was one of the best sandwiches I have ever had! I thought the prices were very reasonable, especially considering the quality of food. This will be a stop we make again when we visit Charleston in the future.

  • Visited July 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamieL119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice start to our vacation.”
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Went here on our first night in Charleston. They were booked but the got us a table on the porch. Not very scenic (gravel parking lot, back alley). But the restaurant itself was nice. Waiters name was Tim super friendly and attentive. He brought lots of ice tea and bread. Had the sword fish and was blown away. My partner had the tile fish and she loved it as well.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beejmcgillashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Fantastic menu - great food”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Just got back from a trip where we dined at Husk, SNOB, Poogan's and Cru. We had an exceptional lunch at Cru, it's a fairly small and quaint place but the menu is off the charts. We sat there looking at the lunch menu and agreeing that we could eat every single item offered. We settled on the shrimp BLT and a fried oyster wrap that was as good as any wrap you can eat. We added a side of macaroni that might be the best macaroni and cheese that we have eaten. Our server was friendly and everybody there was helpful and attentive.

Make a reservation, come to Cru and smile for the rest of your day.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed that they used their bare hands to mix/serve salad”
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Food and service were so wonderful, but was appalled when I saw them using their bare hands to mix and "plate" the salads (we were seated in full view of the kitchen.) Had I seen this before I ate, I would not have been able to eat my salad. I see no reason why tongs couldn't be used instead of bare hands; I can't help but wonder how clean this person's hands were, or weren't.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LocalDiner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cru Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cru Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing