We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza, Great Location”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #94 of 936 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Kitchen Hours Sun-Thurs 11AM-11PM Friday & Saturday 11AM-12AM (Bar 11AM-2AM)
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was my 2nd visit to a MM but by far the best. Buffalo Chicken Pizza was great. 21 different types of beer on tap (made it hard to choose). Waitress staff was excellent, especailly with the small children I was with, I did not know pizza dough was a toy until they brought it out and let them play with it before the food came!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nikerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for posting a review. We are glad that you decided to come back and visit Mellow Mushroom for a second time, and we are thrilled that it has been your best dining experience at Mellow yet. The Buffalo Chicken Pizza is one of our many delicious specialty pizzas available for you and when paired with a beer of your choice or with the help of your server you can't go wrong. We offer many kid friendly options and as you witnessed we sometimes provide entertainment for them too. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 268 of 351 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The service was interesting. The venue was organic. The food was inventive. Prices were steep... Probably wouldn't return just for that reason. Every person in our party ordered a pizza. Small is plenty for one person, don't let the server tell you otherwise. The melloteranian was tasty with the tzatsiki sauce. The pesto pizza was also delicious and my husband ordered one with potatoes on it that he loved. It was fun reading the menu and trying something other than your everyday pepperoni and sausage pizzas!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank naptownfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We take pride in providing a unique atmosphere and quality food for all of customers, and we are glad to hear that you and your husband both enjoyed your specialty pizzas. We do not want you to be discouraged from coming in to see us at Mellow Mushroom because of our pizza prices. We offer $2 pizza slices everyday during lunch and on Mondays at our King Street location we offer a $5 small pizza with a topping of your choice from 4 to close. Thank you for coming in and we hope to have you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Staff were really friendly and there were a lot of vegetarian options on the expansive menu. Located in a bustling part of king street not far from the university.

Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for posting a review with us. We always try to provide a friendly staff and wonderful and extensive menu options to choose from so we are so glad to hear that you were able to experience both. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Sat upstairs for lunch, and the restaurant was relatively full for lunch. I got a chicken and broccoli calzone, it was pretty good. Service was good and the atmosphere was friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us at Mellow Mushroom in Charleston. The Chicken and broccoli calzone is a great create your own option and we have several create your own pizza options that would be a great choice for you as well. We hope to have you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We had the five dollar one topping pizza night ! Amazing- my husband got his choice and I got mine. Food took a little longer than expected for Sunday night. 1/2 hour from when we put in order. Recommend highly great dough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlexandraMHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience dinning with us. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional time and that you loved our one ingredient pizza and dough. Your feedback is highly appreciated and will help us improve our service. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing