We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Med Bistro - Yum and great with food allergy”

The Med Eatery and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Med Eatery and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #365 of 899 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Med Bistro - Yum and great with food allergy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on the way home from visiting Charleston for the day. The food was very good and you got lots of it! Our waitress was fantastic! I have a severe food allergy and she (and the kitchen staff) were super accommodating. She checked with the kitchen for everything for me - salad dressings, side options, etc. I was able to substitute a fabulous side salad for fries because the fries weren't gluten free. She also suggested a gluten free beer for me. She was great with my kids, asking them how they liked their meals. Overall, it was a great place for lunch, I'd go back for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Re discovered”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Haven't been here in several years. Used to be average lunch place. Has turned into a really nice spot. Good food. Good service. Appreciated children's menu w food kids like. They actually asked to go back. Not crazy about choice of music. Paella a nice treat. Needs less spicey liquid. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stealtherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Why do I keep going back?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Once more to the Med Deli and once more I wonder why? After trying a number of overcrowded restaurants West of the Ashley on Saturday night with a very hungry grandchild we gave in to trying Med Deli for the third or fourth time over the years. Each time we go there I hope to find that this comfortable neighborhood restaurant has a new and better chef. Dissapointment each and every time. Calimari fried to rubber bands, fried oysters so thick with breading that there was no flavor of oysters. Chicken and pasta that appeared to have been reheated in a microwave after being long frozen. Huge salads, again, with no flavor to the dressing and nothing new or exciting in the bowl. This was not an inexpensive meal but it surely was an inferior meal. The only positive was our server was a delightful young lady who was swift and attentive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakeala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ok, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Went there for brunch with four friends; had not been there since their ownership change some time ago.. Menu was extensive and the hours for brunch are good 10-3 30 on sunday... Service was excellent... Our waitress did a good job of staying on top of our needs without being intrusive... Food was good but not great... Presentation could have been better... Two of us, who had what was on the menu as smoked salmon benedict, had stomach problems later but could not say with any certainty that it came from that... Problem was that wasn't smoked salmon on the sandwich...It was regular salmon ( BIG DIFFERENCE)...
Altogether ok experience but not great. Might give them another try another day.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stealtherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Nice Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place is great, fresh local menu. i had the shrimp and kale gnocchi and it was perfect, my wife and her mother had the paella which was also spot on. The rest of the menu featured a variety of very nice alternatives, they also had an extensive wine and beer menu. Don't overlook this charleston gem. Oh I almost forgot very reasonably priced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ESU1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Med Eatery and Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Med Eatery and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing