We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best food ever”
Review of Fulton Five

Fulton Five
Ranked #84 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fine dining Northern Italian restaurant located in Historic Downtown Charleston
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best food ever”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to Fulton Five with a group from work, The food is the best I have ever had at ANY restaurant. The staff (Dave) was very knowledgeable and took the time to explain each dish we were interested in. He was also able to suggest a wine to pair with the dinner. We each ordered a different appetizer, entree, and dessert. We will definitely go back for my birthday and our anniversary. The atmosphere is perfect for couples or friends who wish to enjoy each other's company and some great food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    75
    15
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Romantic Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a very romantic restaurant off King Street on an alley. It is very quaint and is not on the tourist circuit. They do not advertise since they have a local trade. The food was amazing as well as the service. They have great small plates that you can sample more of their great food. The mussels are amazing, seems that is on all the reviews for this location. The prices are fair and in keeping with the local market.We had a wonderful relaxing evening there and we recommend this to all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank quicktraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fulton 5”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Excellent atmosphere with a romantic greenish patina with a great step down banquette layout. Courteous and caring staff a zealous effort to please. Manhattan cocktail was excellent but unfortunately Antipasto Spoleto, which is a signature dish was not quite warm enough for the Mozzarella to have softened properly. The Mussels sautéed in white wine were tangy and delicious having the right amount of xxxx in them. The Filletto d'Expresso, another signature dish, had a bitter finish, but was good in texture. I shared pudding with my Fiancé which was a mildly interesting custard topped with peaches that were a bit green and bitter. We felt all portions were what they should be. We look forward to eating here again. C. Bruce Berry, Charlottesville.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank charles b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite spot in Charleston”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Excellent food, wonderful atmosphere and great waitstaff. Small enough place that makes it special. Every dish is special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful'”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Amazing find right off of King Street. Great atmosphere, service and of course, fabulous food! Don't miss the mussels as an appetizer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alandg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fulton Five also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fulton Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing