We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tommy Condon’s

Tommy Condon’s
Ranked #108 of 898 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: After working in the restaurant business for many years, Tommy opened his first restaurant in 1984. He has made his name by becoming one of Charleston's favorite local spots to serve up Lowcountry specialties such as shrimp and grits and fish and chips. Tommy runs the type of family-oriented establishment where people know their children are as welcome as they are. In fact, a children's menu has been specially prepared for "little leprechauns." In the months following Hurricane Hugo, Tommy made numerous trips to Ireland collecting exquisite antique mirrors and authentic Irish memorabilia that adorn his restaurant. He scoured the countryside and brought every pub mirror he could find. He laughs wryly about his massive shipping bills. The results are worth all his effort. The mirrors cast rich reflections, making the restaurant warm and inviting. Some mirrors are ornately detailed while others shimmer with simple elegance. You'll swear you've been transported to a pub shrouded in antiquity in Ireland's rambling countryside.The restaurant would not be complete without the sounds of Ireland. The background music is perfect. In the pub and bar area the "live" sounds of Ireland can be heard every Wednesday through Sunday nights. You can sit back and listen or join in singing an Irish-American sing-along. Tommy says it is wonderful to see whole families getting in on the fun at one table while at another sits a couple on a date and at yet another sits someone's grandparents remembering and laughing.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice lunch place”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Good fried fish plate, reasonable price for lunch with a good beer mug we sat on the terrace and enjoyed the street view

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bowdahunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    439
    184
    76
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quitman, Texas
Level Contributor
212 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Tasty Pint and Pub Food”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Lunch for four included salad, she-crab soup, shrimp po-boy and hamburger for our group of four, accompanied by pints of Palmetto Pale Ale. Service was attentive, beer was cold, and the wall postings of entertainment indicate that this would be a very lively and fun place to be at night. We all enjoyed our food, although have had a better shrimp po-boy in Louisiana restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasStarshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing atmosphere, music, and people!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Whenever I am in Charleston this is the first place I want to go! The Irish Breakfast burger is to die for and their fried green tomatoes are some of the best I have ever had! If you go to Charleston you have to go to Tommy's on a Friday or Saturday for their live band, they are awesome and really complete the Irish feeling!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmmarshall13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch and fabulous location”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Hadn’t been to Tommy Condon’s in about 10 years and it was even better than I remembered. Went with friends today and one ordered the fried green tomatoes for a starter to share. Wow! Wasn’t sure about the whole idea of them but they were delicious and the sauce they served them with was fantastic! I ate the shrimp and grits for lunch. It was excellent but be ready for a very large portion. I ate and ate and felt like I barely made a dent. My friend who got the wedge salad felt the same way. Service was excellent, our waitress was attentive and kept our drinks full and handled our split checks easily for us. Atmosphere is still awesome and sitting outside on the porch was nice. Was still warm outside even if it is October and we watched as the carriage rides full of tourists went by. But remember they will stare at you too if you are out on the porch so feel free to wave at them. Location is fantastic – one block off Market. After lunch, a quick stroll down Church Street to the church and the graveyards or to the old munitions building is fun before you start shopping the market again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HattieMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No service”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We went by for Saturday evening supper and was seated on patio. After Fifteen minutes of waiting for a wait person that never showed up we left. When we turned menus in no one seemed to care. Will not return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joyner_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy Condon’s also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Tommy Condon’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing