We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“$1 mimosas on Mother's Day- enough said.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tommy Condon’s

Tommy Condon’s
Ranked #108 of 898 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: After working in the restaurant business for many years, Tommy opened his first restaurant in 1984. He has made his name by becoming one of Charleston's favorite local spots to serve up Lowcountry specialties such as shrimp and grits and fish and chips. Tommy runs the type of family-oriented establishment where people know their children are as welcome as they are. In fact, a children's menu has been specially prepared for "little leprechauns." In the months following Hurricane Hugo, Tommy made numerous trips to Ireland collecting exquisite antique mirrors and authentic Irish memorabilia that adorn his restaurant. He scoured the countryside and brought every pub mirror he could find. He laughs wryly about his massive shipping bills. The results are worth all his effort. The mirrors cast rich reflections, making the restaurant warm and inviting. Some mirrors are ornately detailed while others shimmer with simple elegance. You'll swear you've been transported to a pub shrouded in antiquity in Ireland's rambling countryside.The restaurant would not be complete without the sounds of Ireland. The background music is perfect. In the pub and bar area the "live" sounds of Ireland can be heard every Wednesday through Sunday nights. You can sit back and listen or join in singing an Irish-American sing-along. Tommy says it is wonderful to see whole families getting in on the fun at one table while at another sits a couple on a date and at yet another sits someone's grandparents remembering and laughing.
Taylorsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“$1 mimosas on Mother's Day- enough said.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Walked right in and was seated for Sunday Brunch. Good portions, fair prices. Bangers were awesome, kids pancakes-great. Bread pudding French toast- yummy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggiemda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    439
    184
    76
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
545 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
“As Irish As You Can Get!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

When you walk into Tommy Condon's Irish Pub and Seafood Restaurant throught the front door, you would think you had traveled to Ireland! On our recent trip to Charleston, we choose to stop here for dinner one night.

Each patron was cheerfully greeted as they entered. we were asked if we wanted inside or outside dining. We choose inside and were immediately seated in a small alcove room to the right that only had 4 tables. There was another party of 2 seated at one table and they were just finishing. So, soon we had the little room all to ourselves.

Our waitress Teresa got us our pint of draft Guinness ($5.00) which on their menu is listed as a snack along with their other appitizers. Each Guinness had a shamrock drizzled into the foam on top. This is only the second establishment we have tipped a pint & had this done ~ very impressive! If you want, check out my picture.

Next it was 1/2 price appitizers time, so we tried their hot soft pretzels (3) with warm queso cheese sauce sauce (1/2 price was $3.50)

We then ordered Jambalaya ($16.99) and Shrimp & Grits ($16.99) Used a coupon that I had printed at home for "buy an entree get one 1/2 off" so we received an $8.50 discount. The Jambalaya had shrimp, chicken & summer sausage over spicy red rice. My Shrimp & Grits had over a dozen shrimp, tasso ham, tomatoes, green onions & parmesan gravy over locally ground grits.

Wonderful place to eat, loved the Irish decor, close to the Market and very reasonable prices. When back in Charleston ~ we will definitely go back for dinner and probably lunch also!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magic_carpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food was delicious and the atmosphere was great! Our waiter went above and beyond to make our visit enjoyable. I would recommend it to everyone. Very family friendly!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great live music”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a fun pub. Great waitstaff. A wonderful live Irish band. The drinks were good, but we didn't eat so I can't speak for the food.
But a great place to go for a pint. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always a good time.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I could go on an on about how great Tommy Condon's is. It has a great location near the Market, affordable food, a fantastic bar and late night scene and wonderful service. This is a restaurant that any tourist can feel comfortable taking the kids and at the same time, dine with the locals.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mark_kerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy Condon’s also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Tommy Condon’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing