We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille

Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Corner of Queen & East Bay
Orlando
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We visited Charleston for 3 nights and ate at Cypress twice. With so many great dining options it says a lot that we went back for more. The Three Beast Salumi was fantastic! A mix of pork, beef, and lamb with great flavor. Our first night we had scallops and pork belly and the filet. The filet was cooked perfectly and it was so tender I was able cut it with a butter knife. The second night we requested to have a small plate of only the three beast and the chef was nice enough to accommodate us. For dinner we ordered the Wasabi Tuna and the Steak Diane. Both nights were delicious. The only thing I would change is order the filet with the Steak Diane potatoes and mushrooms, yummy. Service was great both nights and I will keep Cypress on my list of places to visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ranrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    211
    110
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
204 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A good place to eat in Charleston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went to Cypress for a rehearsal dinner for a wedding we were attending. The atmosphere was nice. We were upstairs and they had a nice bar, which we had several drinks at after dinner. The appetizers were excellent and the meal very good. I had shrimp and grits a favorite of mine and my wife had the twin tournedoes of beef. They were cooked pefectly to medium rare and were excellent. It was a good restaurant with a large appetizer selection.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rfenton231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over Rated...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Although I agree with the previous reviews that the atmosphere was great, I must say I was not impressed with the food. We started with the cured meats. Ok, nothing impressive. Ordered the Caesar salad, very fishy tasting. Last, ordered the filet. The meat was good, however, they layered it on top with a very strong soft cheese. expensive, bill totaled over $200.00 for 3 people.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandy3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Young Atmosphere, Insightful Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Cypress is a modern American restaurant down near the Old Slave Market in Charleston. Owned by the same group as Blossom and Magnolias, the food at Cypress takes a more modern flare and is focused on beef instead of the seafood focus of Cypress' two sister restaurants.

Atmosphere: The high ceilings, glass-encased multi-story wine cellar, and color-changing fluorescent lights create a younger scene that Blossom or Magnolias. The volume level is average but can be a bit loud if seated next to a larger birthday/work party. Overall, it is a romantic but not intimate atmosphere. The rotating colors of the fluorescent lights is distracting at first, but we seemed to acclimate and ignore them after a few minutes.

Drinks: The cocktail list is extensive but heavily focused on sweet drinks. I ended up getting something off of the menu based on the recommendations by the waiter that the residual sugar content on most of the drinks was pretty high. The wine list is delivered by iPad and can be sorted by varietal, region, vintage, etc. The list is very extensive and includes traditional new and old world reds and whites. Some of the "bottom of the bin" bottles are put on special for a few dollars off each month. These are often great bottles of wine at $10-15 less than the normal price. Ask about these specials (though the waiter will likely bring it up regardless).

Food: We got the charcuterie plate to start which was decent. I'm not a huge fan of the homemade charcuterie plates that feature ground up and re-shaped meats, but for that style, this plate was pretty good. The lard biscuits served instead of crackers were wonderful, as were the homemade pickles and mustard. For the entrees, we had the Steak Diane, which was cooked to a perfect medium and served piping hot. The Swiss Potato fondue served with the dish was fantastic. The other entree was a lamb pasta special that day. The lamb was pulled from the bone and served over pasta with a house made sauce. It was wonderful and served in quite a large portion. Overall, the food at Cypress was great. However, we've been a few times before and it can be hit or miss depending on the day.

Service: We were quite impressed with the service. The waiter understood why certain items or cooking methods were applied to a dish and explained why making substitutions may not make for a good dish. He was able to recommend entrees that fit our preferences and was knowledgable on the wine list and cocktail list. While not necessarily the most attentive waiter, his knowledge was more insightful than most restaurants I have been to.

Cost: For two cocktails, an appetizer, and two entrees, the total came to around $140 with tip.

*** Make sure to make reservations a few days in advance, especially for dinner on the weekends.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Austin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sweet Lavender ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The server was great! He suggested the lavender martini. It was wonderful! I ordered the Steak Diane. It was cooked perfectly. There is no salt and pepper on the tables. I do think it could of used a little salt. Sorry. A very nice place with wonderful food and charming staff.

Helpful?
Thank Eimatt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing