We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful meal”

Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 899 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Corner of Queen & East Bay
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Cypress has a sophisticated, contemporary setting, with excellent food and service. I had scallops and pork belly that were out of this world.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ltwau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    216
    111
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Innovative, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I'll admit I'm working from a smallish sample size of restaurants in Charleston, but we were very impressed by the food at Cypress. First, the chef dabbles in charcuterie, and you would be remiss if you did not partake of the charcuterie menu. Some of the best stuff I've had this side of the Atlantic. Second, the special was extremely innovative. The wait staff was very good and food knowledgable, which always helps. We dined at a higher rated restaurant the night before but thought this one was leagues better. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank realroadrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is my daughter's favorite restaurant in Charleston. When I come to visit it's a given that we'll be eating at Cypress at least one night! This was the case a few weeks ago when we had the occasion to dine at some of Charleston's top restaurants. The service at Cypress was the best!! We basically put our Server in charge of the ordering and he did a great job. I had the tuna and it was outstanding. However, it was a dish I would have liked to have shared.

Great night, wonderful service, lots of fun!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annbmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Wow!! I can't even begin to tell you how horrible this restaurant was. Visited over memorial weekend, sat at the bar upstairs. Ordered an average cocktail and decided to get "their signature dish" tuna wrapped in phyllo flash fried, promised to still have a cool red center. Man, I should have stopped when they said deep fried tuna, who does that? I ate one bite and it was terrible!! Served with fava beans and some vegetable or potato not quite sure, it tasted more like a sliced raw potato. My boyfriend had the sweet and sour meatballs which were just as bad. I'm pretty sure grape jelly and BBQ sauce over store bought frozen meatballs would have been better. It was sad. Spent over $100 and left hoping I wasn't going to get sick. One positive... Restaurant is beautiful. It stops there unfortunately and sad. For a great town with great food there are much better places out there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zissouandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent all around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We visited this restaurant on ourvacation and we were so glad that we did. The service was impeccable and the food was better. We order the Chateubriand for two and it was superb. It was cooked to perfection. The ambiance was lovely with changing lights. I highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pambaknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cypress - A Lowcountry Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing