We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late night must for great cocktails” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gin Joint

Gin Joint
Ranked #136 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Late night must for great cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place boasts a wide selection of cocktails. The best part however is the $10 menu, where you chose 2 adjectives for what you would like your drink to be, and they make it for you. For example, you can choose 'strong' and 'spicy' or whatever you like. We ordered several rounds of these, and each drink was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buzz5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    123
    37
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Unique bar, creative drinks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We loved the unique drinks they offered. It was like being in a science lab w/all of their concoctions and potions! Definitely worth stopping in for a beverage!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice bar scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Came here for drinks after dinner. Had a nice flight of wines to taste. Great atmosphere and prices were decent. It was hopping pretty well for a Thursday night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
273 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Elegant done right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I love love love a high-end bar that doesn't joke around. The glassware was proper, the ice cubes (small detail- I know- but it makes a difference!) were carefully molded for each glass and every drink was prepared with the flair of an artist and the touch of a refined gentleman. A little pricey for drinks- yes- but you are paying for the exerience of rare booze, home made mixers and a waiter who can tell you the difference between green and yellow chartreuse... don't go here if you want a jack and coke. Go back to college where you belong. If you want all the glamour of a gin joint- then the Gin Joint is the place for you.

Roger Sterling would be a regular.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DCInsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bartender obnoxious!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was dying to try the Gin Joint on our recent trip to Charleston as I read about it in a few places. We went on a Monday night and sat at the bar. The bartender barely glanced at us. When I asked a few questions about different drinks he wasn't very helpful. One of the options when ordering is to give him 2-3 descriptive words from a provided list (ie floral, sweet, sour, etc.) and he'll come up with a drink for you. This is what i did but he didn't prove to be very creative as it was the identical drink to the woman next to me. I did love the presentation of the drinks and they use very cool ice cubes. We had the thai popcorn to snack on which I wouldn't recommend and I'm a HUGE popcorn lover. We asked the bartender if he ever practiced drinks in his off-hours and he seemed surprised by the question and said "no" - kind of showed a total lack of interest in bartending even though they're supposedly known for their creativity at Gin Joint!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alisonboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gin Joint also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gin Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing