We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”
Review of Fish

Fish
Reserve with OpenTable
Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #100 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between John & Ann Streets
Description: A warm contemporary and inviting space, Fish resides in a beautifully renovated, 1837 Charleston home in the heart of the Upper King Design District. Our seasonal menu reimagines classic French cuisine with delicate Asian touches and unrivaled presentation, showcasing the freshest local and sustainable ingredients. Featuring straight-off-the-boat seafood and locally harvested produce, Fish's vibrant fare spans farm-raised meats, innovative dim sum, artisan cocktails and boutique wines. Small and large plates feature light fare, family-style bites and hearty entrees, alongside vegan and gluten-free selections. Enjoy handcrafted cocktails at the lively bar - a local favorite for happy hour Tuesday - Friday & Sunday 4:30 - 8:00 pm.
PuertoRico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Good organic food and beautiful place. The Bouilibaise ,chicken and flounder and large portion were very good. The service a little slow but very polite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fournierSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    129
    29
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible service, OK food.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were extremely disappointed with our visit here. It came highly recommended. We waited an hour and a half for our food. It was only towards the end of our wait that the waitress let us know there was a 70 person private party and our order went in after theirs. They should have been more prepared for this if they had a party that large. We thought the wait would be worth it - but it wasn't. The thing I was most excited for - bacon french fries, were terrible logs of...something that resembled a polenta rather than potato. My friends got the dim sum and disliked all of it. Drinks were emptied for long periods of time before the waitress came and asked if we wanted more, which is suprising considerding we had to wait as long as we did for food. Big thumbs down all around.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PBH519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent choice after the Cooper River Bridge Run!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Appetizer - calamari was delicious!
For my entree, I chose the Bouilibaise (not sure of spelling). It was a soup with scallops, shrimp, clams, vegetables in a broth. Really good. My husband got the Flounder which was also very good (large portion. He couldn't eat it all.)
Dessert - Dim Sum. Choose 4 for $8. Very reasonable! New pastry chef has implemented a spring dessert menu - Excellent!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graves21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An Interesting Story”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The renewal of Fish is an interesting story, and the family who is working hard to keep parts of Charleston working is to be commended.
We were in Charleston on a tour, and our final night's dinner was at Fish. We didn't order offf the menu, so I can't speak to that aspect of the restaurant, but I can say that the choices for our dinner were very good, and everyone seemed to enjoy his food. The service was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BetseyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I consider myself a foodie from DC and have heard alot about the Charleston food scene. We went here for a bacherorette. The appetizers were delicious (fries with Siracha ketchup, fried mozzarella) and the bread they bring you before (more like a donut) was fantastic. I ordered the flounder, it was ok. I've never been to a restaurant where every single person completely cleaned their plate. Yes the food was good, but this was more so because the portions were mediocre. The sauces on the fish were good, but it was just overall average.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelsForWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing