We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A. W. Shucks...”

A W Shucks Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A.W.Shucks is a casual dining seafood restaurant on Market St. In downtown Charleston. Our Chefs source the highest quailty seafood on the market and prepare with much TLC. We guarantee that you will have a great taste of authentic Southern seafood and hospitality. We appreciate all feedback from Trip advisor and will respond privately to reviews.
United States
Level Contributor
255 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A. W. Shucks...”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We enjoyed a good meal at A. W. Shucks
The food was very good.
The service was even better than the food.
When we visited it was very hot and humid, so we ate inside instead of in the outdoor dining area. I think that the atmosphere in the outdoor dining area was much more inviting. Although everything was alright with the indoor dining (it was clean and the environment presented itself well), it didn't feel as welcoming as the outdoor dining area.
Good food, great service, but if the weather permits, I would suggest sitting in the outdoor seating area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank menbx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    325
    167
    54
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tilghman, Maryland
Level Contributor
481 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Fast, Friendly, and very Tasty Food”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were seated quickly and our server was friendly and efficient. We both had a pecan battered local white fish which was fried. I do not usually get fried food, but this fish was expertly cooked and not greasy. The portions were large with the usual sides. It was moderately priced and well worth the cost. I highly recommend this restaurant. They do have outdoor seating, but it was too hot to sit outside, but if we had you are right off the Market and it would be enjoyable to watch the action.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Born_to_go61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

He had the Jambalaya and I had the Legendary Casserole and they were both plentiful and good. This place is really cool inside with its wooden floors and high ceilings but the service is pretty slow so if you are in a hurry pass this place by.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great seafood lunch”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I recently ate at this restaurant for lunch. We had our first Carolina shrimp and grits and it was awesome! Highly recommend. Nice cheesy grits, very good. Also tried the stuffed shrimp wrapped in bacon and they were good as well. Drinks on on the other hand were expensive and very week with no flavor. Restaurant is close to the market area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you want good low country food, then this is your place!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time and the food was great. Get the market fried dish. Also our server, Kaitlin, was fantastic!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DONTOMASNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing