We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food and Drinks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Crab House-James Island

Charleston Crab House-James Island
Ranked #60 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: James Island
Description: Water front dining ---"Southern seafood and a Darn Good Time".
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

The food and service is great. Great view from the restaurant. We liked this location better than the downtown location because it is less busy and parking is much easier. Only about 10 mins away from the downtown location. My husband loves the drink "Dark and Stormy". I love the crab soup and crab cakes! Food and drinks were great and the service was perfect.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    253
    100
    37
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Seafood, Great Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We recently visited Charleston SC, and tried Charleston Crab House for lunch on a TripAdvisor recommendation. Great choice! All of our food was perfectly prepared and delicious! Our server, Shanella, was the best! Very courteous and well versed in the menu, she could not have been nicer!! Give it a try, you will not be disappointed!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Actually ate here twice the same week and the food was great both times. The service was above average and the view of the river was beautiful. Would eat here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cyndi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Our family ate dinner at Crab House about a week ago. Food was great!! Really enjoyed talking to our server, Lyndsey. She knew the menu well and make good suggestions.

Helpful?
Thank Clenteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

My family and I were looking for a great seafood meal. Our friend recommended the Charleston Crab House on James Island so we decided to give it a chance. I have to say that it was the best chance i have taken in a long time! The service was wonderful! Our server Emily was extremely friendly and helpful when making a choice on the menu. And the food was superb! I had the wasabi encrusted tuna and would definitely recommend it to all! If you are looking for great service and fantastic local seafood the Charleston Crab House is the place to be!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovebeingamom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Crab House-James Island also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Crab House-James Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing