We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Surroundings, Great Food”
Review of Peninsula Grill

Peninsula Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Peninsula Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 947 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting Street
Description: Located in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, this AAA Four-Diamond restaurant has been recognized by Departures, Conde Nast Traveler, Food & Wine, The New York Times, Southern Living, Travel + Leisure, Wine Spectator, and others for serving the finest and freshest ingredients sourced locally and globally. With velvet-lined walls in shimmering oyster tones, woven seagrass, and indigenous cypress, the Peninsula Grill Dining Room ambiance is supper club sumptuousness. The Peninsula Grill Champagne Bar is an intimate jewel box space that offers several outstanding champagnes by the glass and a delicious bar menu. The lush Peninsula Grill Courtyard is one of the Charleston's true hidden gems and the most romantic al fresco dining setting in the city. Peninsula Grill also offers private dining. Peninsula Grill is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, an exclusive collection of restaurants and hotels in romantic destinations around the world. Business casual attire.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This place is located behind a beautiful, dimly-lit courtyard and is a great place to be "seen" in Charleston. The food is delicious and the service is wonderful. While it's a little pricy overall, it's well worth it.

1  Thank Cheongsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of Peninsula Grill. Our gas lantern lit courtyard is the perfect entrance to Peninsula Grill. It is a great reminder of Charleston's private gardens and a lovely path to our courtyard. whether you are dining in our dining room or out in the courtyard the ambiance of old-word sophistication and charm remains constant. This setting combined with Chef Graham Dailey's cuisine and our impeccable service reward our guests with an evening to remember. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,274 - 1,278 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

We ate at Peninsula Grill twice on our recent visit to Charleston, once for breakfast and again a day later for a stellar dinner. On both occasions the service was exceptional: for breakfast, the friendly veteran Latrice served our table expertly and graciously, and at dinner Chris guided us through menu and wine selections with the confident aplomb of a seasoned hospitality pro. Meals were in both cases outstanding; we enjoyed our breakfast outside, which was quite pleasant, and at dinner we were happy to enjoy the cooler, more elegant setting the restaurant proper affords. Wouldn’t hesitate to treat ourselves again the next time we are in Charleston, or to recommend it to friends who are planning a trip to Low Country. I was grateful for the non-seafood options that a delicious, seared foie gras and rib-eye steak afforded, as many of Charleston’s better restaurants mainly feature fish and shellfish offerings, which can grow tiresome after a couple of days, however expertly prepared. I know it’s been said to death, but the coconut cake is not to be ignored, and once served is bound to disappear; we hadn’t planned on having more than a bite or two, but that was simply just not in the cards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for your elegant and complimentary review of Peninsula Grill. Many of our guests know of Peninsula Grill because of our diner service and never take the opportunity to join us for our breakfast service. Featuring both a well appointed continental breakfast as well as ala cart offerings it is one of the best kept secrets in Charleston. Both of our services feature amazing cuisine produced by Chef Graham Dailey and his staff. Our longstanding and professional service staff is passionate about making sure that every one of our guests has an experience that makes them eager to return. With a staff composed of members like Chris and Latrice it becomes obvious quickly that you are going to be pampered. Thank you for your visit. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is one restaurant that definitely lives up to its reputation. Our dinner was perhaps the finest dining experience we've ever enjoyed. Our server, Chris, was perfect (and not a single "hey guys" from anyone the entire evening). My husband and I shared the jumbo lump crab, spinach and fried green tomatoes salad which was absolutely delicious. We both ordered one of the specials that evening, halibut wrapped in prosciutto topped with tomato jam - a phenomenal choice! A true classic.

1  Thank VirginiaIrishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for your visit and review of Peninsula Grill. One of the many things that makes Peninsula Grill special is the passion that is found throughout. Chef Dailey and his staff have a passion for the ingredients that we source from around the globe. We take the best ingredients that we can find and turn them into memorable dishes like the Halibut and Jumbo Lump Crab Salad that you enjoyed. Our passion is also found through the service that Chris and the entire staff show through the prompt, attentive and professional attention we give each of our guests. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your evening at Peninsula Grill. We look forward to your return.

Best,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The food was exceptional. Our waiter, from the south of France, had been there for many years and knew everything about the menu. Would definitely return. However, the restaurant is noisy, not quite and intimate. Would not be my choice if a quite meal is desired.

1  Thank Drlee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for your visit to Peninsula Grill. I am thrilled that you enjoyed Chef Dailey's cuisine and Eric's service so much. It is because of our world class service and amazing cuisine that we have a lively and energetic dining room. Reservations are coveted and necessary for dining. The cuisine we feature combined with our impeccable service have made Peninsula Grill the place to dine in Charleston. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We booked this restaurant because of the high ratings it received on Trip Advisor. It did not disappoint. The ambiance was formal, there is a dress code (not strictly enforced but you would feel self conscience if you did not follow it). Men collared shirt and pants (shorts would be ok) and women a nice dress. The food was awesome. One of the best meals I had in Charleston. No kids menu but they had enough listed on the appetizer and sides that my children ordered off of that. It is pricy, but worth it!! Service was outstanding! I would go again in a heart beat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zvillemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Thank you for your visit to Peninsula Grill and for your excellent review. Peninsula Grill has earned it's reputation of being the place to dine in Charleston through Chef Graham Dailey's cuisine and our impeccable service. We pride ourselves on consistently exceeding our guest's expectations and giving them reasons to return. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Peninsula Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing