We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy food in a classy setting”
Review of Peninsula Grill

Peninsula Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Peninsula Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 967 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting Street
Description: Located in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, this AAA Four-Diamond restaurant has been recognized by Departures, Conde Nast Traveler, Food & Wine, The New York Times, Southern Living, Travel + Leisure, Wine Spectator, and others for serving the finest and freshest ingredients sourced locally and globally. With velvet-lined walls in shimmering oyster tones, woven seagrass, and indigenous cypress, the Peninsula Grill Dining Room ambiance is supper club sumptuousness. The Peninsula Grill Champagne Bar is an intimate jewel box space that offers several outstanding champagnes by the glass and a delicious bar menu. The lush Peninsula Grill Courtyard is one of the Charleston's true hidden gems and the most romantic al fresco dining setting in the city. Peninsula Grill also offers private dining. Peninsula Grill is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, an exclusive collection of restaurants and hotels in romantic destinations around the world. Business casual attire.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Peninsula was better for us than 3 other top restaurants that we visited: S.N.O.B., McCrady's, and Cypress. The soft-shell crab dish was divine; perfectly crispy and delicious. The pork loin dish came overcooked and was returned; the second time it was perfectly done. The lamb dish was excellent. I had one foul cooked oyster out of four, but the waiter quickly replaced it after being notified. What's not to be missed is the fabulous coconut cake. So well crafted! Creamy and balanced. And I am not normally a fan of coconut desserts. The restaurant has a very nice, formal ambiance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cuisinator007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing your Peninsula Grill experience. We are thrilled that we were your favorite restaurant during your visit to Charleston. Charleston is such a wonderful culinary destination so we are honored that you chose to recommend us so highly. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,388 - 1,392 of 2,356 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

Food was so delicious. Expensive and not for kids but great for a romantic setting. Service was outstanding!

Thank jaimelovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for rating Peninsula Grill "Best Meal and Outdoor Setting so Romantic. We are fortunate to be able to offer our guests a unique experience at Peninsula Grill. We have a combination that has made us the destination to dine in Charleston. The combination of Chef Graham Dailey's cuisine, the service of our professional and longstanding staff, and the ambiance and beauty of either our dining room or our courtyard have made reservations at Peninsula Grill highly recommended. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We celebrated my birthday at Peninsula Grill last year when we were in Charleston and since we were back here again this year, we decided to do a repeat performance. We were not disappointed as the food and service were superb. We were welcomed back and my birthday was acknowledged which was a nice touch. Our dinner was so delicious that I wish we had a chef's table so we could see how they made our meal. My wife had the heirloom tomato salad with buffalo mozzarella mousse while I had the sweetbreads which was perfectly cooked. My wife had steak tartar as her main, while I had the soft-shell crab which like the salad had just come in season and was fantastic! Dessert was a no-brainer as they are not known for their 12 level coconut cake for nothing. Another memorable birthday dinner and we look forward to returning the next time that we're in Charleston. To us, when dining in Charleston, there is no other choice but the Peninsula Grill and we highly recommend that you come here if you want a special event dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TimandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for celebrating another birthday at Peninsula Grill. We are honored by your choice to return again as well as all of the compliments and the strong recommendation. Our goal at Peninsula Grill is to offer our guests a memorable experience through Chef Graham Dailey's cuisine and our professional service. I am thrilled that we have given you two birthday celebrations at Peninsula Grill to remember.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The famous coconut cake is what led us to make reservations for one of our dinners at Peninsula Grill during our Charleston visit last week. Several of the reviews mention the restaurant being to "stuffy" or "formal". It is a very nice resteraunt with an elegant interior and yes, you should dress appropriately. My husband and I happen to enjoy dressing nicely to enjoy a great meal, so this environment was much appreciated and enjoyed. I actually wish there were more establishments such as this. We each had a soup appetizer - the three soup sampler was great and my husband enjoyed the oyster stew. I had the scallop entree and my husband had a grouper special. It was very good and both dishes were prepared perfectly. Even though we were completely stuffed, we had to split the coconut cake. It was excellent and definately worth trying. The service couldn't have been any better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for your visit and your wonderful review. Peninsula Grill over the last 17 years has earned the reputation of being the place to dine in Charleston. We do expect that our guests dress for the evening. Many gentleman in coats regardless of the temperature outside. Many of our guests are celebrating, and dress for the evening. When you combine Chef Graham Dailey's cuisine, our celebrated service, and the atmosphere of our sophisticated dining room the result is an evening to remember. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is always a fabulous restaurant! The service and food are exceptional, justifying the pricey menu. Make sure that you try the coconut cake, which is their specialty; it is yummy!

Reservations are a must at all times.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VAGypsyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

As you discuss in your review, there are many reasons to dine at Peninsula Grill. Thank you for your visit. I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful evening with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Best,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Peninsula Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing