We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!”
Review of Peninsula Grill

Peninsula Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Peninsula Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 940 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting Street
Description: Located in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, this AAA Four-Diamond restaurant has been recognized by Departures, Conde Nast Traveler, Food & Wine, The New York Times, Southern Living, Travel + Leisure, Wine Spectator, and others for serving the finest and freshest ingredients sourced locally and globally. With velvet-lined walls in shimmering oyster tones, woven seagrass, and indigenous cypress, the Peninsula Grill Dining Room ambiance is supper club sumptuousness. The Peninsula Grill Champagne Bar is an intimate jewel box space that offers several outstanding champagnes by the glass and a delicious bar menu. The lush Peninsula Grill Courtyard is one of the Charleston's true hidden gems and the most romantic al fresco dining setting in the city. Peninsula Grill also offers private dining. Peninsula Grill is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, an exclusive collection of restaurants and hotels in romantic destinations around the world. Business casual attire.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Travel a lot and we both agree this is the best food ever.
We walked in after seeing Sounds of Charleston ( highly recommend ) . We we dressed VERY casual . This is a gorgeous room and very dressy but , we were seated and had the BEST service and food ever. Pricey , but worth every delectable bite .

1  Thank Janrich22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for your visit and review. Peninsula Grill has created a reputation of being the place to dine through Chef Dailey's cuisine, our exceptional service and the ambiance of our dining room. Even after 17 years of serving Charlestonians and visitors to our amazing city we continue to strive for excellence. We continue to have passion for our cuisine and service and that separates us from the other restaurants in Charleston. We look forward to serving you again.

Best,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,336 - 1,340 of 2,285 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I had dinner here for our anniversary and simply loved it! The restaurant had a lovely table inside waiting for us, but we opted to sit outside since the weather was so beautiful. We were glad that we did since it was a full house that night and the garden was quiet with only two other tables filled - perfectly romantic for an anniversary dinner. The service was exceptional (thank you, Justin!) and the wine pairing with our meal was excellent. I would definitely recommend having dinner here if your able, it will be memorable and delicious!

Additionally, we were staying at the hotel so I will note that we also had breakfast in the garden and it was just as lovely. They have a light buffet of pastries, fruit, granola, yogurt, juice etc as well as a menu of hot items from the kitchen. I had the buffet and my husband the kitchen and we were both extremely pleased.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cms1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for celebrating your Anniversary with us at Peninsula Grill and Planters Inn. I could not think of a better way to weekend in Charleston than dining at Peninsula Grill, relaxing and spending the night at Planters Inn, then finishing the next morning with breakfast at Peninsula Grill. We are thrilled that is was everything you hoped for.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a very enjoyable meal here. I liked the way they served our martinis in their own individual shakers poured at our table. I had a fantastic halibut special and the huge delicious coconut cake for dessert.

Thank Becky98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for spending an evening with us at Peninsula Grill. The combination of Service, Ambiance and Chef Dailey's cuisine has made Peninsula known as the place to dine in Charleston. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Yes.....this is an expensive restaurant relatively speaking.,....but the service is impecible and the food is so wonderful.

This place truley capped off our wedding week with a lovely night. The coconut cake is signature....get it....its a must.

the patio seating was so romantic, but the inside dining room is just as nice.

Thank OhioTravel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for such a strong recommendation. Peninsula Grill is the premier dining destination in Charleston because of our cuisine and service. We take great pride in the service that we offer and the passion we have for our cuisine is evident on every plate. Thank you for the review.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I have eaten in many of Charleston's restaurant but none of my dining experiences have ever come close to the quality of the food and service I have experienced at the Peninsula Grill. Our server, Patrick is a true professional and helped us find the perfect bottle of wine for our dinner. I cant wait for my next dining experience as it will only be Peninsula Grill from here on....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for being such a huge fan of Peninsula Grill. There is a huge difference between dining out and being treated to a dining experience. At Peninsula Grill our combination of Service, Cuisine and Ambiance creates an experience. This is why we are known as the place to dine in Charleston. We look forward to your many returns.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Peninsula Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing