We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy”
Review of Peninsula Grill

Peninsula Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Peninsula Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 968 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Meeting Street
Description: Located in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, this AAA Four-Diamond restaurant has been recognized by Departures, Conde Nast Traveler, Food & Wine, The New York Times, Southern Living, Travel + Leisure, Wine Spectator, and others for serving the finest and freshest ingredients sourced locally and globally. With velvet-lined walls in shimmering oyster tones, woven seagrass, and indigenous cypress, the Peninsula Grill Dining Room ambiance is supper club sumptuousness. The Peninsula Grill Champagne Bar is an intimate jewel box space that offers several outstanding champagnes by the glass and a delicious bar menu. The lush Peninsula Grill Courtyard is one of the Charleston's true hidden gems and the most romantic al fresco dining setting in the city. Peninsula Grill also offers private dining. Peninsula Grill is a proud member of Relais & Chateaux, an exclusive collection of restaurants and hotels in romantic destinations around the world. Business casual attire.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

It is a fancy restaurant, if you don't want to get all dolled up just go sit at the bar, but you must get the coconut cake. Even if you do not like coconut get this! I hate coconut but love this cake!

Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for your review of Peninsula Grill. We appreciate your recommendation of getting the Ultimate Coconut Cake. It is truly a delightful and decadent dessert. I is however best enjoyed served after a complete meal prepared by Chef Graham Dailey and served by Peninsula Grill's highly acclaimed service staff. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,414 - 1,418 of 2,357 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

The cuisine and service was outstanding. Entrance way, the ambiance and the place was the best by far in the city of Charleston. Food selection ranged the gambit from local fine specialties to international selections. The wine list was very good. What a fine experience!

Thank escape_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for your visit to Peninsula Grill. The reason for Peninsula Grill's success is exactly the experience that you described. The entry to Peninsula Grill sets the tone for the evening. The warmth and excitement found in our dining room is matched by the service. Chef Graham Dailey's cuisine showcases the flavors of the best ingredients we can source. We hope you return to experience it again and again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful restaurant for a special occasion or any occasion. Every bite of food, from the appetizers to the main courses and through dessert was rich with flavor. Service was excellent- thank you, Danielle. Although a bit pricey, the overall tab was quite reasonable given the quality of food and service. We look forward to returning to Charleston and dining at the Peninsula Grill.

Thank SHarlan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us! I am thrilled that you had such a memorable experience at Peninsula Grill. Chef Graham Dailey's cuisine is full of flavor because of the quality of ingredients that he sources. We have local producers and fish mongers. We buy day boat fish and feature them as specials. Chef Dailey and his staff take great care in the preparation and presentation of these items so that the natural flavors are the focus of the dish. Our cuisine is complimented by the professional staff that services our guests. Danielle and the rest of our longstanding service team focus on creating wonderful dining experiences for all of our guests. Thank you for the review. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I dined here for my birthday. The service was outstanding! We were seated outside and the surroundings were beautiful. We were bothered a little with gnats, but were offered bug spray. Our food was absolutely delicious and the 12 layer coconut cake for dessert made my birthday the best ever! I would highly recommend this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

I am thrilled that you had such a wonderful birthday dinner at Peninsula Grill. Thank you for celebrating with us. I too am a huge fan of our al fresco dining in the courtyard. Weather permitting, it is the only true garden dining in Charleston. Surrounded by the Planter's Inn it is a true oasis in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Thank you for your visit and review. We look forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

No matter where we dine in Charleston, Peninsula Grill coconut cake and excellent coffee close the meal. Not to be missed.

Thank pawleyspelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Peninsula Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for making Peninsula Grill a "must do" on your visits to Charleston. I know that you stop in specifically for the Ultimate Coconut Cake however I would like to challenge you to also try the Banana Panna Cota. It is unfortunately hidden in the shadows of the Ultimate Coconut Cake but equally worth the visit to Peninsula Grill. Thank you for your numerous visits. Welook forward to serving you again.

Cheers,

Ryan Groeschel
General Manager / Sommelier
Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Peninsula Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing